We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what Kendal needs ”
Review of Ye Olde Fleece Inn

Ye Olde Fleece Inn
Ranked #82 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional 17th Century establishment dating back to 1654 with plenty of character. Our team offer a traditional pub menu made with local produce and delivered to your table with a smile! A great family environment serving fine cask ales. We also have a large function room available for hire for all your party needs.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what Kendal needs ”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself went to The Fleece today to have lunch. The bar staff were welcoming and helpful . We ordered the carvery and were shown to the far end if the pub where the carvery is served. The landlord and landlady were there to serve the carvery, again very welcoming. The food was great.. Choice of three meats, all cooked perfectly then lots of veg to choose from, all fresh and very tasty. Topped off with a lovely yorkshire pudding and gravy.
Fantastic value for money, great service and a warm welcome .
Just what Kendal needs !

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracybram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    4
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Carvery At A Good Value For Money”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Myself and my friends decided to have a try at the carvery and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have eaten, we were presented with a huge plate full of food which was more than worth the price we paid. Brilliant staff that made us feel very welcome and made our stay comfortable.
I would highly recomend giving it a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcome, a smile and the best carvery ever!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived at Ye olde fleece inn expecting very little, in fact it seemed they were closing early. However upon enquiring at the bar about food still being served the place came alive and our food was served promptly and it was brilliant - a proper roast dinner, no frozen veg and real roast potatoes! The staff were attentive and friendly and the pub itself is an absolute diamond find. An incredible atmosphere (very haunted) and good layout and I really cannot enthuse enough about the atmosphere and welcoming attitude of the staff - professional and friendly and I cannot wait to return thank you guys. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A rainy night in Kendal!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were looking for a meal on a very wet night and we came across this pub.Nice friendly staff and the chef at the carvery was brilliant! A good carvery at an amazing price

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 472lindam472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable visit!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Excellent service, staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely, very good value for money and generous portions. We will be sure to visit again in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Fleece Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Ye Olde Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing