We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Station Inn Oxenholme
Nearby Hotels
$94
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$338
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$157
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
83
63
23
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
63
23
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publamb henrysmaller portionsadventure playgroundspecials boardoutdoor play areasteak and mushroom piegreat eveningsticky toffeeate herelaundry roomkids mealsfamily birthday meala late lunchbeer gardengood quality foodreal ale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed one night for a training course in Kendal - I chose it because it is so close the train station at Oxenholme (just a short walk down the hill). I arrived after dinner so I can't comment on the food but the beer was good and the atmosphere in the bar and lounge seemed friendly.
The room itself was great, a nice comfy double bed. My only negative was the bathroom could have done with a thorough clean - it was okay but the shower screen hadn't been moved in god knows how long so there was some mould build-up.

Overall good value and an excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at The Station Inn Caravan site for 3 nights of the August bank holiday. It is a secluded site with brilliant views of the Lakeland Hills. There is a play area for kids which includes a crazy golf course, bouncy castle and adventure play ground. There were Alpacas in the next field and chickens running wild picking up the crumbs from around the outside tables. The food is very good and as it is cooked to order we did not have to wait too long. We had a 7 year old and a 2 year old with us and the children's menu had a lot of variety.The staff were friendly. I will be going again as it is only 4 miles from my home but far away to feel I am on holiday with my Grandchildren who really enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Het F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A balanced review I hope. Please read all....

Family of four, 2 adults, 2 older teenagers staying for two nights (We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night) on route to Scotland from Kent. Sat Nav located the Station Inn with no issues.

We arrived at 16:00 approx. Large empty car park but gets much busier after 18:00 so arrive early for a closer space. We were expected, and were shown to our room by a helpful member of bar staff. We had a bright family room, this was a very large double bed, two full size singles in a separate area, although there is no curtain or divider between these areas. A very large bath/shower room with WC, old style but working TV, dressing tables, and furniture. The room was very clean & comfortable. Clean good quality towels provided. The cost by booking direct was £115 per night for a family of four, although in our opinion as the family room was not divided a slightly lower price would seem fairer.

NOTE. The accommodation is situated just across the very small back courtyard, ADJACENT to the bars and restaurant. The area is used by smokers and those coming out of the bars for fresh air etc. I was concerned that reading previous reviews that there would be lots of noise, or smoke coming up to the room as there are two large Velux style windows for our room. This wasn't the case; although the pub and restaurant were not that busy during our stay and I can see how if larger groups were standing drinking/smoking or both in the courtyard then it would be an issue. There were a couple of loud people, so those wanting real peace and quiet before the pub and restaurant close beware. We went to bed after most had left so not a big issue for us.

There is a coded door between the accommodation block and the courtyard, but this was left permanently unlocked and when I asked if it could be locked (as we were going out) I was told they don't get people going in there who are not residing. I disagree as I found a guy standing in the doorway who was having a cigarette whilst chatting on the phone as it was raining slightly. The laundry room is also just inside the door and the staff need to be QUIETER in the mornings when going in and out, as they can disturb your sleep. Again they leave the door open when going in and out to access the laundry.

Location. The area is excellent for getting into Kendal (5 mins), and to the lakes with Windermere being a 20 min drive away approx. The train station was only 2 mins around the corner. All well signposted, and even in August the local roads were not very busy. The Station Inn itself is directly on a country lane, even with this the traffic was very minimal and it was never an issue.

The staff were at all times helpful, and when we asked for a couple of extra pillows these were brought straight to us. Alison, was particularly helpful and made us feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. They also provided us with the password for the Wifi which also worked fine as well.

The food was good, with a set menu and a specials board. The portion sizes were ok and the service again was quite swift. The steaks were good quality, as were all the meals that were tried. Prices varied, but were quite high for the meat dishes. It s worth noting that your bill will go up swiftly when eating and drinking at the Station Inn, as it is so easy to stay put at night !!

Excellent breakfast (Served by Alison) A choice of options, including the full English which most of us sampled, but all was good quality and well presented. Toast/bread as much as required and the same with tea/coffee, cereals and juice. The breakfast was included in our room cost.

There is a very pleasant outside area with Chickens, Alpacas and a large playing area for children. This is fenced in for safety and is between the car park and the Inn itself. As we had older children we only popped in to see the animals, but it is a good area for those with younger children to let off some steam and wear them out a little !

Overall a good break, the rating is given as very good due to the staff, food and accommodation being very clean and well presented.

OWNERS PLEASE NOTE.... address the at times noisy courtyard area, and the security of the accommodation area as the car park is direct access into that location. Maybe install an inexpensive ELECTRONIC KEY ACCESS FOB for staff and guests to access the courtyard door into the rooms and laundry, and to stop unwanted visitors !!

But we would stay again, and hope the above issues had been addressed.......

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off ground level, or as far away from the courtyard area as possible if you are needing an early night, an early start or just to avoid any of the patrons on the pub waking you up if they are standing outside the accommodation block !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmite A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel in a lovely spot. You can drive into Kendal within five mins. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and big. Bedding was lovely and crisp. Was great for my daughter who is three. She loved the outside area and the animals. Pub food is excellent and breakfast was too. Will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked into this hotel from the 25th July for three nights for a family wedding. Was a lovely warm and friendly hotel. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. The lady who servef breakfast was very friendly and always had a smile breakfast, breakfast was always served quickly and hot.
We had luxury double, it was cleaned daily and nothing was to much trouble. Apart from breakfast we didn't eat at the Inn but menu looked fab and food smelt good at a reasonable price aswell. The only downside which isn't down to the hotel, but if planning to spend alot of time in Kendal, and not wanting to walk or drive its a little far out. Taxis are the most expensive I have seen anywhere, 3 miles to Kendal is a out £14 which we found to be steep. So if ur looking for a quiet, welcoming place to with good food and a beautifull garden this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMcColm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews