We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good campsite in the pub grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Station Inn Oxenholme
Ranked #17 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at The Station Inn Caravan site for 3 nights of the August bank holiday. It is a secluded site with brilliant views of the Lakeland Hills. There is a play area for kids which includes a crazy golf course, bouncy castle and adventure play ground. There were Alpacas in the next field and chickens running wild picking up the crumbs from around the outside tables. The food is very good and as it is cooked to order we did not have to wait too long. We had a 7 year old and a 2 year old with us and the children's menu had a lot of variety.The staff were friendly. I will be going again as it is only 4 miles from my home but far away to feel I am on holiday with my Grandchildren who really enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Het F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A balanced review I hope. Please read all....

Family of four, 2 adults, 2 older teenagers staying for two nights (We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night) on route to Scotland from Kent. Sat Nav located the Station Inn with no issues.

We arrived at 16:00 approx. Large empty car park but gets much busier after 18:00 so arrive early for a closer space. We were expected, and were shown to our room by a helpful member of bar staff. We had a bright family room, this was a very large double bed, two full size singles in a separate area, although there is no curtain or divider between these areas. A very large bath/shower room with WC, old style but working TV, dressing tables, and furniture. The room was very clean & comfortable. Clean good quality towels provided. The cost by booking direct was £115 per night for a family of four, although in our opinion as the family room was not divided a slightly lower price would seem fairer.

NOTE. The accommodation is situated just across the very small back courtyard, ADJACENT to the bars and restaurant. The area is used by smokers and those coming out of the bars for fresh air etc. I was concerned that reading previous reviews that there would be lots of noise, or smoke coming up to the room as there are two large Velux style windows for our room. This wasn't the case; although the pub and restaurant were not that busy during our stay and I can see how if larger groups were standing drinking/smoking or both in the courtyard then it would be an issue. There were a couple of loud people, so those wanting real peace and quiet before the pub and restaurant close beware. We went to bed after most had left so not a big issue for us.

There is a coded door between the accommodation block and the courtyard, but this was left permanently unlocked and when I asked if it could be locked (as we were going out) I was told they don't get people going in there who are not residing. I disagree as I found a guy standing in the doorway who was having a cigarette whilst chatting on the phone as it was raining slightly. The laundry room is also just inside the door and the staff need to be QUIETER in the mornings when going in and out, as they can disturb your sleep. Again they leave the door open when going in and out to access the laundry.

Location. The area is excellent for getting into Kendal (5 mins), and to the lakes with Windermere being a 20 min drive away approx. The train station was only 2 mins around the corner. All well signposted, and even in August the local roads were not very busy. The Station Inn itself is directly on a country lane, even with this the traffic was very minimal and it was never an issue.

The staff were at all times helpful, and when we asked for a couple of extra pillows these were brought straight to us. Alison, was particularly helpful and made us feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. They also provided us with the password for the Wifi which also worked fine as well.

The food was good, with a set menu and a specials board. The portion sizes were ok and the service again was quite swift. The steaks were good quality, as were all the meals that were tried. Prices varied, but were quite high for the meat dishes. It s worth noting that your bill will go up swiftly when eating and drinking at the Station Inn, as it is so easy to stay put at night !!

Excellent breakfast (Served by Alison) A choice of options, including the full English which most of us sampled, but all was good quality and well presented. Toast/bread as much as required and the same with tea/coffee, cereals and juice. The breakfast was included in our room cost.

There is a very pleasant outside area with Chickens, Alpacas and a large playing area for children. This is fenced in for safety and is between the car park and the Inn itself. As we had older children we only popped in to see the animals, but it is a good area for those with younger children to let off some steam and wear them out a little !

Overall a good break, the rating is given as very good due to the staff, food and accommodation being very clean and well presented.

OWNERS PLEASE NOTE.... address the at times noisy courtyard area, and the security of the accommodation area as the car park is direct access into that location. Maybe install an inexpensive ELECTRONIC KEY ACCESS FOB for staff and guests to access the courtyard door into the rooms and laundry, and to stop unwanted visitors !!

But we would stay again, and hope the above issues had been addressed.......

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off ground level, or as far away from the courtyard area as possible if you are needin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmite A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel in a lovely spot. You can drive into Kendal within five mins. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and big. Bedding was lovely and crisp. Was great for my daughter who is three. She loved the outside area and the animals. Pub food is excellent and breakfast was too. Will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked into this hotel from the 25th July for three nights for a family wedding. Was a lovely warm and friendly hotel. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice. The lady who servef breakfast was very friendly and always had a smile breakfast, breakfast was always served quickly and hot.
We had luxury double, it was cleaned daily and nothing was to much trouble. Apart from breakfast we didn't eat at the Inn but menu looked fab and food smelt good at a reasonable price aswell. The only downside which isn't down to the hotel, but if planning to spend alot of time in Kendal, and not wanting to walk or drive its a little far out. Taxis are the most expensive I have seen anywhere, 3 miles to Kendal is a out £14 which we found to be steep. So if ur looking for a quiet, welcoming place to with good food and a beautifull garden this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMcColm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Station Inn is a very comfortable & clean B&B down a country lane & when cycling it's good not to have to look for somewhere to eat. Lock up storage for your bikes too. Perfect location for the Walney to Wear cycle ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikeryorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First the plus points:

The Station Inn staff are very helpful, we were travelling with my baby son and they made us feel very welcome with him. The nice touch like putting out the highchair prior to our arrival for dinner and both mornings for breakfast was a nice touch. The room was spacious, comfortable and had all the expected amenities and was a reasonable price for 2 nights.
The food in the restaurant both for dinner and at breakfast was very very good. We had the steak and ale 'blonde witch' pie which was beautiful, the lasagne and the burger which were also delicious-the portions are generous and the staff again very polite and helpful.The lovely lady who served us breakfast was really nice and helpful so big thanks to her for the service and the fell walkers breakfast again was great with good quality ingredients and flavours.
The location for Kendal town is perfect and is far enough away from the town that you can enjoy the countryside. The llamas they have in the field at the Inn are really fun and there is a nice safe play area for children. With children and bags it is easy to park and get to the rooms, no stairs for us which with having the baby was good. Generally the Inn felt quiet and peaceful and had a nice atmosphere. The seperate restaurant means that familes can remain apart from the other patrons if they wish when they eat etc.

The only down I really found (and it is only a minor gripe) was that the doors inside and out of the rooms are heavy and a little noisy which means we were disrurbed by the bang and thud of the people above us going in and out of their room doors. This wouldnt I suspect be much of a problem for most travellers as it affected us only with having the baby.
The Inn also has no wifi which would be a good touch if they could provide it.

I would definately recommend this place for any type of traveller and I would be very happy to stay there again, especially for the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDMouse77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We eat here from time to time when in Kendal( but stay in a b and b walking distance up the road ) the food is hearty and good enough portions, lovely thick hand cut chips :) great scampi, varied choice of drinks to accompany the meal. Beer garden a welcome venue on a sunny day / evening,decent play area for children ( sometimes with Llama's in the field beside ) inside cosy country pub feel, staff always friendly and accommodating.
More on the edge of Kendal but worth visiting, and not far from Oxenholme station, so recommend popping into for some decent grub if you're on a walking/ touring holiday in the Lakes.
Suitable for anyone who likes good home cooking, but (weekends) might get a bit busy inside later on in the evening if you have young children, or need more room for mobility.
I know I shall return :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,088 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Inn Oxenholme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Inn Oxenholme

Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: $105 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Inn Oxenholme 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Inn was oncean old farmhouse, whichat a later date became aCoaching Inn. It is dated aroundthe turn of the century and issituated on the old Tebay toLancaster coaching road.Situated just outside the village of Oxenholme,near Kendal, the Inn is just five minutes from therailway station and is on the W2W Walney to Wear &Whitby cycle route.The Inn is set in a beautiful rural setting withattractive views over the local countryside.We haveample car parking, full disabled facilities, a large beergarden and outdoor adventure playground.free WiFiSituated just outside the village of Oxenholme,near Kendal, the Inn is just five minutes from therailway station and is on the W2W Walney to Wear &Whitby cycle route.The Inn is set in a beautiful rural setting withattractive views over the local countryside.We haveample car parking, full disabled facilities, a large beergarden and outdoor adventure playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Station Inn Oxenholme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Inn Oxenholme Hotel Kendal
Station Inn Oxenholme Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing