We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Away-from-it-all cottage yet close to amenities...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hawkshead, Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sunshine6...
1 review
“Away-from-it-all cottage yet close to amenities and attractions”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage is just off a quiet road yet is a quick drive or 20 min stroll to the village where there are shops, pubs and a bus service. The house is comfortable and the kitchen is well-equipped. There are good walks from the doorstep. The owner, Geoff went out of his way to be helpful, even giving us a lift from Windermere station when we unexpectedly had to arrive by public transport. Our 3 night stay was too short to visit all the nearby interesting places, so hope to be back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the lakes”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at this place and also paid a visit to the Kings Arms Pub in Hawkshead... it's just a 15-20 mins walk. The accommodation is very well equiped and spotless clean. There is parking on site for one car. Not sure whether I should recommend too much because otherwise it might not be available for our next stay. ;-) Thanks Geoff and family!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyrams...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely stay in the Lakes”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A lovely stay in a lovely cottage in a really quiet location. The owners obviously love this cottage and it shows in the care and attention to detail throughout. The personalised welcome pack was a real treat! We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climber65...
1 review
“Great location, perfect facilities”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great views from every window! The cottage had everything we needed, fire, TVs in lounge and kitchen. Kitchen is very well stocked. Great pubs and restaurants close by too.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeW494
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely few days at Gillbank cottage. Geoff gave us a fantastic tour on arrival and made us more than welcome. The cottage has fantastic views and it's really quiet. We had a couple of lovely walks from the cottage and we walked up Great Rigg which was worth the views which were amazing. We were really lucky with the weather too.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SAFC365
Castle Eden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Lake District cottage”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our first stay at Gillbank and won't be our last. A wonderful location, with excellent walking, eating and places of interest close by. The siting of the cottage is secluded, sitting within a privately owned estate, and yet just minutes from Hawkeshead and Ambleside.
The hospitality shown by Geoff, the owner, was excellent, as was the welcome pack he provided. He spent time making sure we were familiar with the cottage and its facilities, together with a lot of useful local information. He had already provided a lot of information prior to arrival.
The cottage is very comfortable with every facility you could need. Parking is restricted to one car, which is something you need to consider.
Overall we'd recommend this cottage, and we will be booking again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.