We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our visit”

Beatrix Potter Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.97*
and up
Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gallery displays original watercolours and manuscripts by the author.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found the Gallery tucked along Main Street, in the small town of Hawkshead. It is a lovely old town, keeping the original shop features and narrow streets. We enjoyed looking around the Gallery which had many interactive resources. Even a space to sit and read books upstairs for children and adults. We had National Trust membership so our visit was free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    128
    54
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The museum is a must for any Beatrix Potter fan. The museum is situated in solicitor's rooms belonging to Mr Heelis. The gallery is celebrating 100 years of Pigling Bland and on display were a number of illustrations from the book and other Beatrix Potter stories. Whilst the museum is small, there is a quiz for the children and space for visitors to sit and view the art work on display. Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and passionate. Thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank banksiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Informative and friendly staff, excellent display of Beatrix Potters art and other documents and photos about her life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small quaint museum”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited on the 100th anniversary of her wedding and publication of Pigling Bland so her illustrations were on view for this event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerryAlberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were on holiday in the lakes and following Beatrix Potters life.
The gallery is lovely and has lots of items of her clothing shows her journals and letters and some of her books. A school party of infants were there and really enjoying their visit, fun and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louannhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beatrix Potter Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Beatrix Potter Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing