We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“teena”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
R-U-IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“teena”
Reviewed October 10, 2008

food!! yeh..pub was very busy!! and took nearly 1 hour to deliver. wanted to try local lake fish which was £12, but no 1 can explain what the sauce was made with...it was disgusting jelly stuff..under the fish..and it came with vegetable instead of salads.....no appologise.from the waiter. R YOU HUNGRY OR NOT??? thats the impression i had from the staff , dont want to go back this place again...maybe they tring to sell gd food but certainly they need to concentrate on customer service..DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank R-U-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    117
    34
    21
    21
See reviews for
57
182
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Food nothing to shout about (Ivy House nearby is good for nice scran) but otherwise great old inn with nice bar and totally modern, boutique-style rooms... The whole village is cute, and almost feels remote when the tourist coaches leave at night.. .wander around the handful of really nice old pubs and relax.

  • Liked — Contrast of historic inn and modern rooms...
  • Disliked — Food is a bit pub-grub...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Great room for the price £50/night, newly refurbished and very clean, new towels every day.

We were made very welcome by all staff. Breakfast was OK. We didnt eat or drink in the bar so I cant comment. There is parking 2 mins from hotel and the owners will give you a pass to park there for free during your stay (£10 refundable deposit required for the pass). Overall it was very good value for money. We would stay there again!

  • Liked — Price!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjoshyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We arrived at the Sun Inn on the Saturday to very welcoming staff.

It was obvious there had been some recent renovations which was very pleasing to the eye. Our own spa bath came in handy after the tiring days walking!

Food was obviously prepared by a chef with passion for what he does, and also of generous proportions.

The staff were always well attentive and willing to go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable.

One down side was we didn't have enough time to enjoy the stay even longer!

Well worth it.

  • Liked — Very relaxing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajstannard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Our stay at the Sun Inn was excellent, with friendly, helpful staff and fantastic locals on a Saturday night! The rooms were very nicely finished following a recent refurbishment, and the food in the restaurant really was very nice. Given the location as well, this made for a wonderful long weekend.

  • Liked — The locals!
  • Disliked — That I was only there for a weekend
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonstopbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2007

On 11 Sep 2007, after a 45 mile cycle ride on our Land's End to John O'Groats adventure, we arrived in Dent around 4.30pm.
Dent a very quaint village with cobbled streets – initial impression good. No hot water at Sun Inn, Dent, (1 broken shower & 1 toilet shared between 4 double rooms) so showers down the road at the pub owners house! Altho the bed linen & towels seemed clean, nothing else about the place could be described as clean. Kim & Aggie could do a channel 4 bank holiday special on cleaning this place up. The carpet was positively crunchy. Even had the shower been working & the place had been clean, I think 1 shower & 1 toilet between 8 people could only be regarded as Victorian standards. Avoid at all costs - the worst B&B on our 3 week end2end journey across the UK. That said, had a superb George & Dragon meal with superb beer: Jennings Cumberland ale, Dent bitter & Dent Kamikaze. Some of our group stayed there & it certainly sounded like a much better bet.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We have just returned from a very short stay at The Sun Inn. When I say short, we were meant to stay for 2 nights but left after just 1 night!
The Sun Inn is obviously a very old coaching inn with low ceilings, wooden beams and sloping floorboards.
The door to the accommodation was blocked by 2 large holdalls of dirty laundry...not a great sight when you first enter somewhere!
We were shown to our room and our initial impression was that it was small but quaint with a tiny window and limited lighting.
However, it did not take long to discover that the limited lighting is probably to hide the lack of basic cleanliness.
The carpet was covered in what looked like dog hairs; the bedside drawers were coated in a layer of dust; the shower cubicle had grime and mould around the base; hairs were everywhere and we were given a toilet roll with about 3 sheets left on it!
I have to say that I would not normally have even stayed for 1 night in such a place but we were so tired after travelling that we shut out the obviious to get some much needed rest.
The next morning, we were looking forward to breakfast...after all, the Sun Inn does claim to have 4 Diamonds for it's food!
We both asked for the full English breakfast and were a bit puzzled why the other couples at breakfast did not seem to be eating. All became clear when our plates arrived....heart attack heaven on a plate! Everything other than the beans had been thrown in a deep-fat fryer and shrivelled to un-recognisable lumps of fat! The beans were not even mildly warm and the toast was cut so thick and not even half-toasted that it broke off when trying ot pull it from the toast rack!
We did not touch a morsel of food on our plates and astonishingly, the Hungarian Waiter (cum-bartender-cum cleaner-cum-general whatever), did not even ask what was wrong when he took away the plates.
After explaining how we felt about everything, he just smiled and nodded (clearley understanding only half of what we had said) and after speaking to his manager on the phone, refunded all of our money.
Overall, there are really too many other places to check-out in the Lake District to bother with the Sun Inn.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing