We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hostelry in vibrant village”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb hostelry in vibrant village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lovely hotel.....decent rooms albeit small.....Hawkshead is a vibrant village with plenty going on.....the Sun is as good a place as ant to say.......breakfast was very good as was the service.....I would definitely recommend and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopsjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    117
    34
    21
    21
See reviews for
57
182
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from an idyllic weekend at the Sun Inn, Hawkshead. Perfect location in the centre of Hawshead. The room was clean, modern & cosy with a comfy bed and a powerful hot shower. A brilliant nights sleep - really quiet. Really friendly landlord & staff and great food. Gorgeous meal in the restaurant on sat night - beef & chorizo burger was like eating a steak and the chunky chips were best I've ever tasted. That and a huge breakfast on Sunday morning meant we didn't eat anything else till late on Sunday. Hobgoblin on tap kept the other half very happy & the sun even came out so we could sit outside to enjoy a tipple. Highly recommended - if you want a value for money break in the Lakes with good good & a friendly welcome, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiedodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Been here many times, and until now, never wrote a review, mainly, as it feels more like home, than a hotel. Everybody there is most welcoming and helpful, the Jennings, is well kept and in fine form (not too sure about the " smooth pump", though), the food is great, they do, cater for vegetarians, a limited choice, but, they are grateful for any input, regarding various dietary needs, the breakfasts are always good (the porridge is a real treat) I thoroughly recommend the Sun, for any Lakeland trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankpugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just back from a great 2 night break.Great value special offer 2 nights break BBEM £200 fantastic evening meal and a lovely breakfast will defiantly be going back the bar also has a great choice of real ales

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnyrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Impressed throughout by the standards at the SUN.
Started well with an excellent welcome from the young lady on the bar who looked after us so well on both our stops for meals
The pub is a traditional Lakes pub, nicely clean and welcoming (Excellent newly refurbed toilets a bonus!!).
Food on both nights top notch with lovely flavours and good quantity. good local beers.One of the best Lakes pubs I have visited and would return in an instant !!! And parking free outside the pub!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokesley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went on a short break to do some cycling in the Lakes. The location at Hawkshead is excellent for access to Grizedale Forest and Windermere. We stayed at the Sun Inn which right in the centre of the village. The room was clean, tidy and with a four poster bed had an excellent nights sleep. The staff were very helpful and with a very good breakfast found the hotel excellent value for money. Although it is part of a pub it was not noisy or busy. Parking is a problem in Hawks head but as part of the room you get a permit for the village car park which reduces cost. Would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Four poster bed really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a fabulous weekend away in the lake district. We stayed at the Sun Inn pub, Hawkshead - which was simply fantastic!

We were greeted by the land lord who welcomed us and showed us to our room. The room was clean and modern but yet cosy and quaint. Lovely bathroom with red hot shower (brilliant after a hard days walking) The bed linens were soft and cosy and the bed was so comfy, i did not want to get up!

We had dinner in the bar by a roaring log fire both nights and honestly, the food was AMAZING! I can highly recommend the muscles to start, followed by either the lamb shoulder or beef shin (both were equally as good) ~ I di

The breakfast was fab too, a hearty full english to set you up for the day, accompanied with juices and as much coffee as you wanted.

This really was a lovely stay and the service was just fantastic! Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended for a de-stress and relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareHYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing