We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A a good pub with rooms”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A a good pub with rooms”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Always liked this little boozer, but stayed here recently for the first time.

The pub has been changed since our last visit some years ago, a bit of tasteful updating which hasn't altered the informal nature of the place, and you can dine in the dining room or in the bar. Outside area is great in the sunshine, it's on the lane into the village, a quite lane but good fun people-watching.

Ales and wines are first class, the food good quality and value.

We stayed 2 nights in a well-appointed room, only issue was that being on the top floor the ceiling sloped dramatically, leaving not much headroom on one side of the room. Mrs S is only 5foot 2inches and even she bumped her head a couple of times. It would be useful to notify guests of this issue before they book.

The slope didn't impair our enjoyment, we had a smashing stay, and were well looked-after by the young team. Those bumps on the head just don't seem important after sampling the delights of the bar downstairs.......

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if you're tall or have an aversion to bumping your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    116
    35
    21
    21
See reviews for
57
184
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went to the Sun Inn, tea time Sunday afternoon. I think the lunch time crowd had gone and the evening crowd had not yet started. It had obviously been very busy. The garden was busy with families and kids and dogs, a nice sunny atmosphere to match the weather.The pub itself was almost empty, just one guy on his own reading the paper, probably just the way he likes it. . The staff were nice, the food arrived promptly and was nice pub grub style. Two of our party had fish n chips, the fish was huge and they said it was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the Sun Inn based on previous good reviews. We were bitterly disappointed. As much as we appreciate it was a beautiful sunny Saturday evening there is no excuse for what we were served. The only reason we didn't complain was because of the lovely girls who worked so tirelessly all evening delivering food to customers in the beer garden - and they seemed genuinely concerned about how we enjoyed our food. To be fair our starters arrived after about 15 minutes and were lovely but then we had to wait an hour for the main course and when it arrived it was terrible. Pie was cold, chips only just done and carrots and broccoli rock hard (and that's coming from someone who likes their veg al dente) Husband's cajun chicken had clearly been cooked a long time before and warmed up and again veg terrrible. If they say sorry we can't take any more food orders and actually deliver high quality food then they will be on to a winner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandjulia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the choice on the menu here. The good was all of good quality and great size portions. The pub has recently been decorated. It has a great beer garden with kids play area and is dog friendly! What more could you want :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It's the second time we have stayed, the rooms are very clean. John the owner made us feel very welcome as did other members of staff. We also had a meal on the evening, and definitely one of the best meals i have had. The breakfast was also great. We took the dog this time and place is very dog friendly.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian0971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited the 2 evenings we were in Pooley Bridge . We sat in the bar which allowed us to take our dog in. Both evenings we had delicious meals (good sized portions)and enjoyed the real ales. They had a god selection of whiskies too.The staff were very friendly and courteous . Our thanks to the landlord who came to our defence when a large dog ,that was not on a lead as required ,set upon our Jack Russell as we were leaving. The other dogs owner's language was not appropriate especially in front of his young daughter.When we return to Pooley Bridge we will buy the landlord a drink.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank f0rty_niners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first thing that hits you when visiting The Sun is the friendly and helpful attitude from all of the staff....faultless. Yes, the room is on the small side and the plumbing slightly noisy, but this is only to be expected from such an old building and wasn't a problem. Everything was spotlessly clean and both breakfast and evening meals were excellent. We stayed two nights and had absolutely no complaints. I can't stress enough how friendly, helpful and professional all of the staff were. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snecklifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing