We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pub Grub”
Review of Sun Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Inn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our hiking group ate dinner in the bar. Between us we chose the beefburger with chorizo & melted cheese, Westmoreland pie and fish & chips, each priced around £10. All the meals were tasty and of excellent quality, served up promptly by attentive staff. The pub also has a decent selection of real ales. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    117
    36
    21
    22
See reviews for
60
185
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed in the Family Room which was spacious enough for our family of four. The breakfast was great and staff couldn't have been more helpful. We also had dinner at the hotel both nights we were there because it was very good and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this 8 bedroomed 17 Century Inn for 2 nights over Easter.
Located in the quaint village of Hawkshead, this is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was small but tastefully decorated and comfortable with the original stonework exposed in places.
The menu has lots of choices with some local dishes and the food is excellent.
Food is served either in the dining room or if you prefer, the bar area.
The bar has local ales, a log fire and a separate games room.
Parking is free on the car park opposite by a pass provided by the Inn.
A lovely experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: There is no lift and if you do not like stairs ask for a room on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlew29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great little pub, great beer. Busy at weekends with campers/walkers. Usually always a friendly welcome, plus they allow dogs! Great!
The Sun is the best pub in Pooley Bridge - never go to the Crown, down the road, its absolute rubbish!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my partner have just come back from a two day break at hawkshead in the lakedistrict.
We booked this place on the off chance and so glad we did.the rooms are brillant and the food and the people who work there are so helpfull and go that extra mile to help you.
If you ever think about going anywhere in lakedistrict it maybe a bit out of the beaten track but trust me book this place you will not be dissapointed i promise,Thankyou for a great 2 days sun inn and hope to be back soon (if the weather gets better)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justindennehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days with friends in February, the staff were very helpful and friendly even gave us an extra heater because it was still cold in our room. The food was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. So much so that we have booked again to stay in May - looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineT325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food great atmosphere friendly staff highly recommend the ho sandwiches at lunch time and fish and chips at dinner great choice of ales did nt stay here but wish I had done will deffinatley stay here next time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn Hotel

Property: Sun Inn Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fire, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing