We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in this surprising inn”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in this surprising inn”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter weekend, arrived after a long journey to a friendly welcome in what looked to be a small oldie worldly pub, was shown upstairs to surprisingly, a very modern decorated room, yes they are quite small but we found they had everything we needed, the bed was comfortable and room was clean, we had a front facing room which had lovely views, even though its above a pub we heard no noise at all. We ate dinner here one night and found there to be a good choice, well cooked and value for money (see other reviews on Red Lion and Queens Arms Hawkstead). The breakfast was good with self service cereal, fruit juices and fruit and then a fully cooked breakfast of your choice which was delicious. We found the staff to be friendly and they all worked really hard to make sure the guests needs were met and the pub ran smoothly. We asked about some local walks which they gave us information on Latterbarrow and Tarn How which were amazing. Evenings were spent in the inn enjoying the hospitality which included live music one evening. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable weekend would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    116
    34
    21
    21
See reviews for
57
181
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a full day out on the fells we where looking for some place to eat so we decided to take the short drive to Pooley Bridge from Glenridding - more to choose from. We looked around and decided to try out the Sun Inn... Wow this place is amazing, the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The food is the best Sunday dinner we've eaten in the Lakes so far and we've tried most places from across the county. If like us - dog lovers then you'll be pleased to hear they are welcome too. Ours enjoyed flaking out in front of the real coal fire!

It's easy to see that the people who work here, take pride in what they do, from a customers point of view it means only one thing - tip top service with a real smile. The menu is classic meals, non fussy using quality local produce. We thanked the chef when we left and his manager thanked us for our comments. You'll find it hard to beat this place for value and quality, we're looking forward to going back this Easter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betteradayonthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just had an excellent 2 night break here. The room was lovely, warm and very comfortable.Staff were friendly, breakfast delicious, comfy bed, lovely shower room en suite. We ate here 1 night and were not disappointed.highly recommend- we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db270861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had an excellent two night break here, our room was very clean and tidy and a little bit quirky. Staff were really friendly and very helpful and let us get into our room early so that we could go off for a walk. Food was very good. Breakfast set you up for a great walk along the fells. Had an evening meal on the Sunday which was very good too, beef and chorizo burger was excellent, hubby was a little jealous! Wine was excellent. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeweealf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. A very warm welcome on arrival. Room was ready and very clean. All the staff were extremely helpful. We had breakfast and dinner both nights which was excellent. They even have a TV watching dog!!! Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful long weekend 15th-18th February 2013. The room was great, the bed was so comfortable the food was fantastic and everybody was so welcoming and friendly. Would highly recommend to anybody looking for somewhere to stay with beautiful walks and scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The sun inn was a very nice place to stop the staff were very friendly and helpful in every way the food was very good and the breakfast was spot me and my wife & friends all had a very good time at Sun inn for a 2 day break away would go back again sometime .

Room Tip: The room that we had was very spaces and clean we was in room 3 and our friends were in room 7 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing