We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2006

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank jJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

I have regularly visited this hotel with family for about 10 years. It is a major benefit that it is a privately owned hotel. It shows in the prices and bar prices particularly it is excellent value for money compared to most of the hotels I stay at when work are paying. The hotel's public areas and bed rooms are all spotless. The owner Jeff Atkinson continually invests in the fabric of the hotel the recent higlight being the new indoor pool and jacuzzi. The standard of decoration is also very high.

The spot in the centre of Grasmere is lovely especially in the evening when the crowds have gone home. The carpark is small but that is because of the position and age of the hotel.

The only down side is that the evening meal is a little old fashioned. If you stick to the meat and game you cannot go far wrong.

The the staff are pleasant and remember from visit to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lulu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Selby, North Yorkshire
14
Reviewed March 23, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Rooms
5  Thank gwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
210
Reviewed March 7, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olitaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.4 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
3.4 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $42 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing