We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong choice”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2009

After a weekend break in the lake district we decided on a pub lunch before we returned home so we decided on a run out to hawkshead and what a nice littlle village this was well worrth a visit .After we had a look round we decided on sunday lunch at the Red Lion Inn BIG MISTAKE Sunday lunch it was not, home cooked it was not fresh food it was not ,warmed up beef frozen yorkshire puddings ,frozen veg how do they get away with saying all fresh home cooked food come on its not that hard to cook a sunday lunch for so few people ,things did get better we decided to have a afternoon tea over the road at the ivy house restaurant home made scones and yes better than my mothers.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

We found The Red Lion during our stay in the Lake District and went there two days in a row for the same lunch - fish and chips (better than any we have had here at home in Cornwall!). The food was excellent and the bar staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend lunch here before or after a long walk - lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My partner and I spend a lot of time in the the village and was looking for somewhere to stay that is dog friendly. The new owners of the Red Lion were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was at the side of the pub with easy access out the fire escape which made life easier with the dog and meant we weren't disturbing other guests. Breakfast was provided for us privately in the bar area as no dogs are aloud in the resturant which was fine. The pub atmosphere is friendly and there was even entertainment on the Saturday night. The pub seems to have become very popular with the locals which I would say is only a good sign. Overall a pleasant stay, rooms could be updated a little but Im sure the new owners will get around to that.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A great place to stay for a couple of nights. The rooms are clean, and have new bed linen and towels, but are a little bit tired. That wouldn't stop us going again. Hopefully, next time the new owners will have made some improvements.
The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, and the breakfasts were terrific.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

If you do want to stay in a traditional English pub with bags of character you will struggle to better the Red Lion. The room was delightfully “Olde Inne” with Oak Beams and uneven walls, more importantly clean and tidy with plenty of hot water not matter what time of day. The breakfast!!! Well the Full Lakeland was large enough to see you up Scafell Pike and back TWICE. The options however were equally impressive, freshly cooked and delicious as is all the Bar Food. There is little else to say without getting poetic, Paul and Lynne are the best of hosts and all of the guys working there (Emma, Sara and Louise) did their upmost to make our stay a good one. I would highly recommend the Red Lion to anyone, just don’t mention Cows to Paul!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rupert72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Wrote a review on this hotel which has seemed to have disappeared. Forget comments pre-new owners who arrived early 2009. We found this place excellent, good reasonably priced fresh/home cooked food, excellent breakfasts and a friendly staff and locals.
If you want gold plated taps,overpriced food and bland rooms go to a five star hotel and pay through the nose.
About time tripadvisor deleted some way out of date reviews. Prospective residents only take note of the 2009 reviews on this site.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We have mixed feelings about our stay at the red lion inn . The inn is in a great location in the village , and all the staff were great . The room however did not come up to the standard we were expecting , the furniture was tired (very) , the carpet was minging and i had loose wall paper hanging off the ceiling above my head . The very small bathroom had a shower and toilet but no sink , this was located in the corner off the bedroom . The towels were nice and fresh on our first night but were folded up and placed on our bed for the second night still damp . We did not dine there in the evening but had the breakfest which was ok with a good choice

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
346 reviews
0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
194 reviews
0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Grassings Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $40 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing