We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Box Pub in a Chocolate Box Village”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

If you do want to stay in a traditional English pub with bags of character you will struggle to better the Red Lion. The room was delightfully “Olde Inne” with Oak Beams and uneven walls, more importantly clean and tidy with plenty of hot water not matter what time of day. The breakfast!!! Well the Full Lakeland was large enough to see you up Scafell Pike and back TWICE. The options however were equally impressive, freshly cooked and delicious as is all the Bar Food. There is little else to say without getting poetic, Paul and Lynne are the best of hosts and all of the guys working there (Emma, Sara and Louise) did their upmost to make our stay a good one. I would highly recommend the Red Lion to anyone, just don’t mention Cows to Paul!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rupert72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Wrote a review on this hotel which has seemed to have disappeared. Forget comments pre-new owners who arrived early 2009. We found this place excellent, good reasonably priced fresh/home cooked food, excellent breakfasts and a friendly staff and locals.
If you want gold plated taps,overpriced food and bland rooms go to a five star hotel and pay through the nose.
About time tripadvisor deleted some way out of date reviews. Prospective residents only take note of the 2009 reviews on this site.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We have mixed feelings about our stay at the red lion inn . The inn is in a great location in the village , and all the staff were great . The room however did not come up to the standard we were expecting , the furniture was tired (very) , the carpet was minging and i had loose wall paper hanging off the ceiling above my head . The very small bathroom had a shower and toilet but no sink , this was located in the corner off the bedroom . The towels were nice and fresh on our first night but were folded up and placed on our bed for the second night still damp . We did not dine there in the evening but had the breakfest which was ok with a good choice

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Friendly welcome upon arrival and were taken through check in promptly and shown to our four poster room.

Room had a newly refurbished shower room which was compact but had a fabulous power shower.

Bed was firm but comfy with nice new linen and a good pile of fluffy towels lay neatly arranged on top. Decor was simple and traditional and in keeping with the age of the property, though I understand there is a program of refurbishment under way.

Our room looked out over the square in Hawkshead and was good for people watching, although if you want peace and quiet it may be wise to ask for a rear room.

Bar had a lovely range of well kept local brewery real ales and a few of the usual too. Good sounding bar menu, we slipped up by not eating there the first night as the food is fabulous!

Bar staff very friendly and the pub had a good mix of locals and holiday makers and was busy the whole time so had a lovely atmosphere.

Breakfast was served in the downstairs dining room by the charming and friendly girl who greeted us on arrival. Good choice of cereal, yogurt and juice followed by full Cumbrian, light choices were available, and proper bread for the toast too! Lovely coffee as well, nothing at all to fault!

Hawkshead is an excellent base for walking and exploring. The Red Lion has a reasonable car park so we decided to leave the car and explore on foot. It is easy to walk to Windemere, Coniston and Hill top (Beatrix Potters house) from the village, there is a frequent bus service too for the not so energetic.

We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phewtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The pub and rooms were in the course of being decorated and it appeared that the owners are trying hard to bring the place up to scratch, but the fact is that it's small and historic so the basics are not going to change. The staff are all very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent. It is well located in the centre of this pretty village, ideal for walking and a little shopping if you want hiking gear. At £80+ a night it was a bit expensive for what you get, but then again it's probably the going rate in the area. There are several other pubs in the immediate vicinity so you can walk to somewhere different to eat each night, which is very enjoyable. Overall a pleasant place to stay but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We had a pleasant stay here over easter but the decor is seriously tired and in need of updating. The dining room is dark and a little creepy but the main pub, though small is buzzy and the food was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful but I think for the money there are probably more charming and cosier places to stay in the Lakes. The owners are new so hopefully once they get settled things will improve....

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

This is a lovely hotel, right in the centre of this small historic village. Hotel is cosy, staff are friendly and keen to help. Occasional entertainment and reasonably priced. It is also dog and child friendly, good food and ales too!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiegeordio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
346 reviews
0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
194 reviews
0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Grassings Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $40 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing