We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills - just good traditional food.”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Old Lake District pub. Good traditional pub grub served with a big smile.
Well - kept beer and a fabulous landlady - Lynne - made for the job !
Not the place if you want wall to wall trendy or nouveau cuisine just friendly and warm.
We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

What could of been a lovely Sunday Dinner was spoilt by lack of gravy and service. My husband and I both ordered the roast and I must compliment them on their homemade Yorkshire puddings, they looked very scrummy. The meat which was beef was fine, veg bland and overcooked but nice roasties. We both had a drizzle of gravy & I mean a drizzle (which with the size of the Yorkshire was by no means enough) even our friend commented on how she couldnt of eaten it so dry! I asked for a jug of gravy which wasn't a problem and said it would be on its way. After eating slowly it hadn't arrived I again asked then to be told they were making a fresh batch and would take a while i now realised this is why we hardly had any...they had ran out! The lady did apologise but to run out of gravy on a Sunday. Twenty minutes later a lady came with a jug seen I had finished and just disappeared without a word! I had left the pudding and most of the meat, way too dry. Our plates were whisked away again without a word or apology after having left what could of been a decent dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossomdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

had a great time early july stayed two nights, ate in one night very good, big portions for a resnobale price, good ale and lovely wines. Cumfy clean room with a great shower, Its a lovely village with friendly people

Room Tip: we stayed at the front and there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tAgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Called in for a snack recently, Landlord seemed friendly enough and was chatty. We ordered sandwiches . What we got were only average and not worth the cost. Other reviewers seem to have had much better experiences ,so maybe we got there on a bad day. Still , it doesn't take much to serve a decent sandwich !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited The Red Lion again recently. We have dined here previously and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, just good old fashioned pub food. Unfortunately, since our last visit, the menu has changed and the prices have increased, more in line with the other pubs in the village. The food was poor by comparison to our laast visit here. I only hope it was an off day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LulusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was recommended to stay here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Beautiful surroundings. Nice bar and restaurant. Comfy bed. A bit chintzy but warm, welcoming and would defo stay again.

only downside - no hairdryer in the room

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my first post on trip advisor, I've never felt it important in the past, that shows how poor I thought this meal was.
The description on the menu sounded very nice, unfortunately what turned up had no resemblance whatsoever to the menu. I left most of my meal which is very out of character.
Eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hazyboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing