We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely and dog friendly inn with very good food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Homely and dog friendly inn with very good food and beer”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have never written a review before but felt the urge to comment on what a welcoming and friendly inn The Red Lion is. If you are looking for modern and contemporary accommodation this inn is not for you. What it does offer though is character, a lovely family run atmosphere, lovely home cooked food, good beer, cosy atmosphere with an open log fire in the winter, clean and cosy but basic accommodation which is dog friendly and a fantastic location. Hawkshead is a wonderful little place with other pubs in stumbling distance and various shops and great walks. Highly recommended and we have stayed there twice now and will definitely be going back. Thanks to the Larkin family that run The Red Lion for a lovely stay over the 2012/13 New Year break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    123
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
71
190
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ugh, this was a catastrophe.

If there's one thing I hate, it's pre-booking a table then being ushered into a 'dining room' that's about as far from the feel of the main pub as possible.

So, we were taken through from the bar, down some steps into an area full of all the other 'unfortunates' who obviously didn't get here in time to have the nice tables in the proper pub. We were shown to the sort of table you would have put on the skip years ago but couldn't be bothered and thought it would probably do in the shed or somewhere as a kind of worktop area. In amongst all the other disillusioned diners were old menu blackboards, a large fridge, various bits-and-bobs that get stored down here out of the way of the authentic pub area upstairs.

Anyway, the waitress seemed pleasant (on the surface) so we ordered our food and carried on with our drinks trying to imagine what it must be like to be in a proper pub etc. Nearly an hour later, the food arrived. Yes it was busy but it's not a massive pub, nor one that has complicated menus to deal with. Most people we observed had a similar wait and that kind of service, without prior warning is totally unacceptable. It was only basic fish and chips type stuff - how can that take an hour? My food was ok but the chips were bland and the fish my son had arrived late and was burnt (believe it or not)! For us, good food is not about how much you get on your plate or necessarily, how much you're paying for it.

Needless to say, we settled-up and left pretty sharpish. Whilst I was waiting at the bar to pay, I overheard the waitress complaining about something and looking generally miserable - says it all really.

Now, read my review of The Queens Head which is approx 50 yards away and is in direct competion with this shambles.

Room Tip: If you really must eat here, insist on having a table in the actual pub - not their backroom storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjlse546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We may have only needed a drink, comfort stop, and a chat with others, but we are so very pleased that we entered the Red Lion. A warming fire, pleasant and friendly bar staff, and parking spaces make it a place to which we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnietheCoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We dined here on a recent trip to Hawkshead. The food really was good, large portions and the cheapest we've found in the village. Although we've been here many times for a drink it was the first time we'd eaten here but it certainly won't be the last. Great food and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LulusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only popped in for dinner as we were staying nearby and wanted a real pub atmosphere for our last night in Cumbria.The lamb stew and homemade lasagne were delicious, the staff friendly and courteous and we left thinking that we wanted to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Red Lion is the oldest pub in Hawkshead, its quite small but so are the other pubs in the village.
We never tried the food apart from the breakfast which was ok.
Has two small outside seating areas for when it doesn't rain, its actually located at the northern end of Hawkshead hidden from the main square by a pedestrian walkway.
The staff were really welcoming and friendly.
But the room although was ok the bed was terrible, the mattress was like sleeping on concrete which I woke several times in the night with back ache, if we had stopped for any longer than just one night we would have asked for another room, but apart from that our brief stay was good.
We stopped in room 2.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were on a tour and only had an hour at hawkshead so found somewhere to eat as soon as we arrived. We ordered our food at 13.55 and as it was only sandwiches and jacket potatoes thought we'd have lots of time to get back for our bus at 14.45! Eventually after asking it arrived at 14:35 and we had to ask for foil to wrap it all up and take with us! It was very nice but the wait and having to eat on the run rather took away from the experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing