We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Trip to The Lakes”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Trip to The Lakes”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Have just taken advantage to the three night midweek deal. Fantastic value. Starting the day with a great cooked breakfast which set up us well for a days walking. Then returning to a warm welcome and good home cooked menu. (Cant recomend the lamb stew highly enough).

Nothing is to much trouble for Lynn and her team you are made to feel like friends rather than paying guests.

If you are looking to stay in the Lakes this is the place to do it. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    124
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
71
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I would recommmend the Red Lion to anyone visiting the Lake District. The food was excellent and good value for money. We stayed end of March 2011 for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were very friendly and the pub has a cozy old world charm.
Would deffinately go back without hesitation

Room Tip: Go to the Red Lion, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariong600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Took advantage of their 3 day break at £270 including dinner bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed.The rooms are a little tired and the bed was firm but the value for money is more than made up by the wonderful cooked breakfast and the evening meal.Paul Lynne and Jake looked after us really well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelMenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Family of five watched the footie ate good pub meals, all happy.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cavan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Loved the roaring fire and ambience in the bar - the lads in our party voted the real ales in the Red Lion the best in this wonderful village. Breakfast was cooked to order and plentiful. The evening meal was enjoyed by all and great value. The rooms were slightly tired but clean with fresh towels every day. Landlady and staff very welcoming and helpful. We are definately going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Lion - it was a pretty pub downstairs and had a nice atmosphere. However, the corridors and rooms are in need of a makeover and are a little tired and unloved. It is a cost old Inn though and the staff were friendly - it is also in a brilliant location. The breakfast was well cooked but I think more variety in the areas of cereals and fruit wouldnt go amiss. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Hawkshead is a great place to stay with easy access to lots of wonderful walks. The Red Lion is a lovely cosy pub with great friendly atmosphere. We arrived on a very cold January evening and was greeted with a warm welcome by the very friendly bar staff. The bar staff are very helpful, including giving good advice on the selection of real ales on tap, and helping with advice on walks in the area. The food is good value (lamb stew and dumplings is great after a long day walking). We almost missed our Sunday dinner as we miss read the restaurant closing time, but the chef was very kind and made a special effort to prepare us another very good meal. We had a great weekend and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn is a Traditional 15th century Lakeland Inn (the oldest pub in Hawkshead), situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Hawkshead in the heart of the English Lake District.Paul, Lynn and Jake Larkin will endevour to provide you with a warm & friendly welcome to The Red Lion, where you will find comfortable & clean accommodation, traditional home cooked food, a wide range of wines & spirits and superbly kept cask ales from around the area.Each of our eight en~suite guest rooms have their own distinct character & charm. All retain many of the original features with sloping ceilings, uneven floors & oak beams. Why not while away the hours in a cheerful, relaxed & informal atmosphere with friends old & new. Be warned, a sense of humour is a must! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Ambleside
Hawkshead Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing