We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in the Lakes”
Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #3 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal place to stay in the Lakes”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited as a couple when my partner was visiting from Canada. I wanted to show him lots of English things and this really fitted the bill. Our room was spotlessly clean and very cosy with lots of character. The bed was really comfy and the breakfast was outstanding, even as a vegetarian - which can sometimes be a problem. The owners were very friendly and helpful and it was a real pleasure to meet them. We were also able to visit both Tarn Hows and Wray Castle, both if which are beautiful walks. I cannot recommend this guest house strongly enough and will be telling all my friends about it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    29
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
50
138
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for the new year. Roz and Darren are great hosts and can't do enough for you. The building was once a doctors surgery and has lots of character, there is a very homely and inviting guest lounge.We stayed in room 1 which was nice and clean with a slipper bath. Great breakfast. The Christmas decorations were fab. Special touches included an unexpected New Year's Eve party with buffet and games, inc a mini casino. Guests return year after year and we are not surprised. Well recommended.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked last minute so glad wee did .staff so so friendly and helpful .Darren took us straight to room on arrival lovely clean warm spacious room had en suite immaculate bathroom amazing old bath .breakfast menu for morning with amazing choice just had to tick what wee wanted and time in morning .had great nights sleep and full English breakfast in morning it was amazing set us up for day .the staff were so friendly & helpfull even took time to write out directons for the quickest and easiest route home to scotland as wee got lost on way down .what more can I say 5 star perfect guest house & perfect setting in gorgeous little picturesque village .thanks so much & will definitely be back next year .
Jackie&jeff

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackief1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights here on our recent visit to the Lake District.
We were immediately made to feel welcome by Darren who swiftly showed us to our comfortable, cosy room. Over our stay our hosts were full of helpful tips- where to go in what weather, nice local places to eat, and lovely walks (even going so far as to walk part of a trail with us so as to show us the local shortcut), while still leaving us to do our own thing.
The breakfast was delicious, the housekeeping quick and efficient, and the décor was warm and welcoming.
We cannot wait to come back to this beautiful part of the world, we will certainly use Ivy Guest House again. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Room 5 (a four-poster bed room) is off from the main hall upstairs and next to the laundry- don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed at the lovely Ivy Guest House in September of 2013. We are all members of a mountain biking / outdoor pursuit club and had come to ride the excellent trails on offer in the area. We were attended to from the second we arrived by the great owners by helping us get our car parked and bags checked in etc. The room was spacious, immaculate and above all comfortable. Just what you need after 5 or 6 hours of mountain biking. The guest house is situated a few steps from all that is on offer in this lovely village. Our breakfast was great, every conceivable breakfast item was on offer from a fresh fruit salad (11 types of fruit!) to croissants to my personal choice the good old full English. A part of our trip incorporates our clubs annual 'Cake Off' competition. This involves the bikers each baking a cake bringing it along and then sampling to find a winner. Roz very kindly arranged plates, forks and tea/coffee for us when we returned. This was all sitting waiting in the lovely guests lounge. A really kind gesture. They both go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Should we be looking to stay in this area again then the Ivy will be first on the list.

Room Tip: Our double room was downstairs (number 6) so ideal if you have problems with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Although our room was a little small it was clean tidy and warm. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast and close to town. No problem taking the dog and he was welcomed with treats and cuddles. Lots of information given about local walks etc. very nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights here with 2 elderly people in the group. This place is perfectly situated right in the village centre not far from the shops & pubs. The B&B is a lovely old building with spiral staircase leading to the rooms & a large lounge which you can use if you want to. There is also a bedroom on ground level. There is plenty of choice for breakfast which is excellent and sets you up for the day. Darren made us & our dog feel very welcome. We will definitely return here on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor room 6 if you have trouble with stairs & room 5 has bath only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ann Tysons House
Ann Tysons House
#13 of 23 in Hawkshead
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Property: Ivy Guest House
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing