We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous B&B in the lovliest littlevillage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #3 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in the lovliest littlevillage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at this lovely Guesthouse and could have stayed longer if only they had the room! we had room 1 which is a nice quiet twin room with a lovely bathroom which had a roll top bath. Lovely touches in the room such as chocolate eggs on the bed and lovely toiletries to use. The hosts Roz and Darren couldnt do enough for us and made us feel so at home.We had our lovely new dog with us and they made such a fuss of him and gave him a sausage after we had finished to hearty lovely breakfast. Loved our stay somuch that Ive booked to goin May and forNew Year. Darren and Roz seemed more like good friends than just the B&B hosts!
Hawkshead is so quaint and the Ivy is in the heart of it all, bonus of having a car park at the back aswell. Some great pubs up there and all are very dog friendly. We ate the Red Lion one night and can highly recommend the steak and ale pie! A must have visit is to Tarn Hows, once you get there the view is spectacular and the walk amazing.
Grasmere is another gorgeous village to visit. You just cant go wrong in the Lake District and by staying at the Ivy you willnot be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    28
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
50
132
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Ivy Guest House for one night (not all the B&B in the Lakes allow a one-night stay at weekends, so it's a good advantage). The B&B is located in the Main Street of Hawkshead - the village is not that big anyway. It has a yard where you can park which avoids paying the very expensive private car park at the entry of Hawkshaed. The room was well appointed: the quilts and bed were to die for and the roll top bath was fab. You can see it has been renovated not too long ago. Nice breakfast. The owners are very pleasant (we forgave them for letting us wait 15 minutes at the door as the bell was not working properly). Good value for money (king size bed for £80). A good address.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an amazing couple of nights here and can't recommend it enough. The service from roz and Darren was amazing and the breakfast was brilliant. Hawkshead itself is perfectly positioned for lots of great scenery and I'm sure anyone who goes will love it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powercord84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year with some friends who have stayed a few times before and we weren't disappointed! The guest house is a lovely building and is very homely inside, superb bedrooms with ensuites and a good shower in our room (3). Also there are toiletries in the bathroom, tea and coffee in your room and a fantastic breakfast in the morning.

Darren & Roz are brilliant hosts and made us feel so welcome and when u leave make you feel like you are leaving friends or family.

Hawkshead is a lovely village, very picturesque and ideal base for walking in the lakes.

We would not hesitate to recommend Ivy guest house and will def stay again

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the Ivy our room was lovely and clean and the bed was enormous and comfortable. The location is fantastic literally steps away from shops, pubs and walks. Breakfast was excellent served by the proprietors Darren and Ros who were extremely attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank di_bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Well was there all weekend it was fun fun and it nice to have a b and b that is careing and it was nice food plus they help us plain our next trip but I can u now it fun just go for a walk in the mist and seeing the sun rise up woe it blow ur mined if I cud stay in that area I wood as it so perfect in my view u never go wrong as it cheap and. Friendly!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looking20uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the ivy guest house, in a lovely 4 poster bed. The b&b was lovely and the owners couldn't have been more hospitable would definitely recommend and can't wait to return ourselves. Location was good and Hawkshead is a charming little village.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpenter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#8 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Property: Ivy Guest House
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing