We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately a place to stay!”
Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #3 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in June, with our daughter and her partner, as we were all going to a wedding just outside the village.Our rooms were lovely, breakfast was great and Ros and Darren were wonderful hosts-nothing was too much trouble. Darren even came and collected us from the wedding at 10.30 that evening! We certainly got value for money with all the biscuits Den ate and which kept being replenished! We even felt comfortable the next morning when hungover! The village has some lovely walks(needed before leaving!) and ample pubs for a wander, all serving good food. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were lovely-I didn't choose the 4 poster as it was a bit high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 254 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Ivy House on the 1st September 2012. Straight away we were made so welcome by Roz and Darren. The house is beautifully furnished and the four poster bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was great and plentiful. It is in an ideal location to stay, being close to the lakes and attractions. The village is so pretty with four pubs to eat and drink in. I would definetly recommend Ivy House to my friends and family and we are definetly going back to stay again (hopefully a little longer). Thank you Roz and Darren for your hospitality and your knowledge of the area.

Lesley and Bryn Jones - North Wales

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived Darren and his mum made sure our stay was a very enjoyable experience. It was our first stay at Ivy House but we will definately be back. The house is that little bit different with the upstairs rooms all off a round landing. Very cosy, comfortable and clean with some lovely little touches. We went for two nights with a couple of walks planned but Darren suggest a couple of different walks which we decided to do and he was spot on. The views were absolutely spectacular. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpert71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night as our favourite B&B in Ambleside was full for one of our two planned nights. We weren't disappointed. The B&B is really friendly and Hawkshead is a really nice village. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Darren, the owner gave us pointers on where to eat and drink.

The only downside to the Ivy is the room we had (four poster + single bed for daughter) was really small for 3 of us. We'd stay here again, which is praise indeed from me as I'm really fussy.

p.s. don't stay here if you are scared of cuddly toys, they are everywhere...!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the guest house and it was outstanding again. When we went last year we were made to feel very welcome with our dog. This year we also had our 4 month old baby with us and we weren't sure how it was going to go! However, Darren and Ros made it feel like a home from home and the trip went really well. A travel cot was available but we decided to use our own. Once we had put the baby to bed we were able to sit in the lounge downstairs and watch the enormous tv! The breakfasts were lovely again and I was well catered for as a vegetarian. We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frozenwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

To repeat most of the recent reviews Darren and Roz where very helpful and friendly ,room was lovely and breakfast fantastic . They both deserve to do well .
Will try to book earlier next time to get a room with best views
PS If like up you have never been to Hawshead before it deserves the boast of prettiest village in the lakes

Room Tip: Try to get a room at front as they have better views and state if you prefer room with bath or showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Ivy Guest House we were treated really well nothing to much bother for Darren and his mum ,excellent breakfast ,off road parking, Clean room, plenty tea,coffee,biscuits loved the four poster bed our towels were changed everyday and chocolate mints left for us, look forward to visiting again. Ideal location and a lovely village.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANNA090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#7 of 23 in Hawkshead
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $116 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing