We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, although small room”
Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #4 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night as our favourite B&B in Ambleside was full for one of our two planned nights. We weren't disappointed. The B&B is really friendly and Hawkshead is a really nice village. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Darren, the owner gave us pointers on where to eat and drink.

The only downside to the Ivy is the room we had (four poster + single bed for daughter) was really small for 3 of us. We'd stay here again, which is praise indeed from me as I'm really fussy.

p.s. don't stay here if you are scared of cuddly toys, they are everywhere...!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the guest house and it was outstanding again. When we went last year we were made to feel very welcome with our dog. This year we also had our 4 month old baby with us and we weren't sure how it was going to go! However, Darren and Ros made it feel like a home from home and the trip went really well. A travel cot was available but we decided to use our own. Once we had put the baby to bed we were able to sit in the lounge downstairs and watch the enormous tv! The breakfasts were lovely again and I was well catered for as a vegetarian. We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frozenwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

To repeat most of the recent reviews Darren and Roz where very helpful and friendly ,room was lovely and breakfast fantastic . They both deserve to do well .
Will try to book earlier next time to get a room with best views
PS If like up you have never been to Hawshead before it deserves the boast of prettiest village in the lakes

Room Tip: Try to get a room at front as they have better views and state if you prefer room with bath or showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Ivy Guest House we were treated really well nothing to much bother for Darren and his mum ,excellent breakfast ,off road parking, Clean room, plenty tea,coffee,biscuits loved the four poster bed our towels were changed everyday and chocolate mints left for us, look forward to visiting again. Ideal location and a lovely village.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANNA090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked for 2 nights, what a fabulous guesthouse. The owners are hands on and cannot do enough for any of their guests. It appears that their main priority is ensuring each and every guest has a great stay, which we did. The property is spacious, very tasteful and very clean throughout. Rooms were again immaculate and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to recomend the Ivy to anyone looking for Lake District accomodaton. I have used tripadvisor for many years however I have never before stayed anywhere that prompted me to write a review, until now....... It really is that good...... Try for yourself and see..... Im sure you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Ivy House and although the weather was wet and typically British, the welcome was warm and inviting. We had a room with 4 poster bed and 3/4 bed for family use. There were nice touches like Haribo and juice for the little one and chocolate mints for us. The room was clean and comfortable with views over the main street and hills beyond. Darren and his family were great hosts and having the use of a living room with huge TV, DVD player and log burner made for cosy nights in out of the rain.
Breakfast was freshly cooked to order with full english breakfast or any combination you could want. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if visiting Hawkshead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soycd115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just stayed for the one night and wanted to thank Darren and his Mum for their warm welcome and service for the duration.
Nothing is too much trouble for these guys, from the moment we arrived, to the time of leaving.
Plenty of off road parking, large rooms with all facilities, and a superb breakfast.
Pub over the road. Not much more needed really!
Good luck with the venture Darren. You deserve success, with the effort you put in

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor to the right of the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
3.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
4.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#7 of 23 in Hawkshead
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $120 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing