We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff”
Review of Poppi Red

Poppi Red
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good food..bit cramped for space.when you are as big as me!! Perhaps the cafe area could be extended into the gift shop area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank giskard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Poppi Red, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We do need more space, maybe another floor infact! Glad you had a lovely time though and thank you for your comments. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    139
    34
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Coffee with a difference”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were waiting to go into the Beatrix Potter gallery and this place caught our eye. People were sitting outside under umbrellas at prettily decorated tables drinking from beautiful cups and mugs and the slices of cake were decorated with a strawberry. We HAD to go in!! We had the lemon drizzle and fruit tea bread both delicious. Inside there were gift items for sale.You must try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louannhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Poppi Red, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are so glad you loved us! Hope you enjoyed Beatrix Potter gallery. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

very helpful and friendly staff, seating outside was nice with fleece rugs for extra comfort and coffee was lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_C_Smith_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Poppi Red, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments! Thankfully we have hardly had a need for the fleece throws as this weathers been amazing :) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quaint find!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lovely array of gifts and delicious cakes in delightful surroundings my idea of heaven. Cosy seating where yummy food is served on lovely crockery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful combination - coffee and clothes”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great idea to combine a pretty little coffee shop with some unusual clothes, bags, scarves and gifts etc. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Has indoor and outdoor tables, the cakes are locally made and worth a detour to sample. A must if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildlifepark235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppi Red also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Poppi Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing