We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quirky”
Review of Poppi Red

Poppi Red
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
brighton and hove
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great quirky”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

absolutely brilliant superb cakes and quality of coffee was lovely and also doggie friendly which really helps on a horrid day

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kirt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    136
    33
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Tomato and red pepper soup ever!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I called in at 'Poppi Red' for a quick lunch this week, we weren't very hungry so I had the tomato and red pepper soup and my wife had the pate on toast.
Pate was great with fresh brown toast and little salad but the Tomato and red pepper soup was fabulous, full of big pepper pieces, deep rich flavour and excellent brown roll as an accompaniment.
If you happen to be in Hawkshead, especially if you have just walked off a mountain and you are need of a bit of warming up, try this place, try the soup, its brilliant, lovely staff (I think she was called Kim), Oh and by the way ....the chocolate and caramel shortbread ................take a piece home......we took two pieces for later ....but mysteriously enough....my wifes piece disappeared before we got home .................

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky little cafe shop”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Have visited here several times- great sandwiches and cakes, proper pots of tea! Can be a little bit cramped inside but plenty of useable room outside underneath the brolly and heaters. Not cheap but is good quality. Shop is always good for a mooch round after coffee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nennybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous darling”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great to sit outside with heaters under your umbrella and a blanket to keep your knees warm. Add hot drinks laced with alcohol and just relax. A delightful shop full of everything under the sun. Fantastic oasis.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“exellent !! what a warm and friendly place”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

i loved it here, quaint, charming and staff very helpful. enjoyed a fab cake and coffee sat in the glorious sunshine, despite chilly weather. they even put the outside heaters on for me. great place will look forward to my next visit!x everywhere in the south lakes is a little pricey, but your not in barrow so you wont get an all you can eat buffet for 2.99!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppi Red also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Poppi Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing