We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Lakeland Pub”

Queen's Head Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Queen's Head Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cosy Lakeland Pub”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Cosy fire, low ceilings and a good choice of ales. We decided to try the fish & chips and my hubby had the burger with blue cheese, both were delicious and reasonable value, the only complaint was I had a small stone in my dinner, maybe the fish had swallowed it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    222
    55
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to come here or the kings head (also in the village) and were glad we picked this one. It was so cosy by the fire. Some quite gourmet looking things on menu but we were feeling the need for comfort food so both had pizza! They were excellent. Staff were friendly and attentive and I drank too much prosecco!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzyAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have eaten in the Queens head many times over the years and it has never disappointed us. However, on this occasion sadly there was no atmosphere at all in the restaurant, the little memorable touches were missing. No bread & olive oil before the meal, my husband had to get up and get our own tea light for the table, no atmospheric music. The lamb shank was served on a bed of celeriac mash, swimming in gravy and resembled a soup. It would have been nice to have the gravy served in a gravy boat at least, and at the price of £17.95 and no vegetables included I feel that this was not good value for money. I also feel at the price plastic table clothes were not fitting, All things taken into consideration we have now cancelled our table reservation for Christmas eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly pub”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Visited here a few times and the staff & service was great.
Great menu choice & the food is fresh and tasty.

Nice atmosphere :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLeighton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten here in the summer and decided to return to stay during the village Christmas fete. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the pub was cosy if very busy. We ate in the evening and really enjoyed the food - lamb shank and fish and chips. Great atmosphere in the village and well worth the second visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 979JanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Head Restaurant also viewed

Hawkshead, Ambleside
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Queen's Head Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing