We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food!”

Queen's Head Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Queen's Head Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
southport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We tried to eat here on our first night but there were no available tables. We did manage to eat here on our second night although we did have to wait nearly an hour for a vacant table, it was will worth it. We would recommend a visit here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chappySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    240
    55
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kennington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent visit to the area.
Superb food, excellent service, and a lovely atmosphere.
I would recommend booking in advance, and if you prefer a quieter, more slow-paced experience, go on a weekday evening as there was a noticeable difference between Friday and Saturday night service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Reservations are a must”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Liked the atmosphere and the food. Service was good too. A wide selection fo beers and wines were also available to complement the food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jenny and franks stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fantastic- we have had a fantastic weeks stay. The staff really looked after us and the food was excellent.
One review said that the bar was dark and dingy, the hotel is over 400 years old! It's called atmosphere!
If you are looking for a relaxed holiday then book a few days at the queens head;- you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Manager got it wrong”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've just returned from a lovely walking holiday in the lakes so I thought I would read through and add comments on the various places I stayed at. I was in this pub on the night a group of very attractive ladies came in, on chatting to them,they were polite,funny and very happy. They were a pleasant addition to the place and certainly more entertaining than the duo plucking strings. They were asked to leave after commenting that the beer was flat. Shameful behavior by the manager,we left when the girls did and moved to a more friendly pub around the corner.
CJ

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Head Restaurant also viewed

Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Queen's Head Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing