We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - treat yourself to a special experience”
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Only one word to describe the Queens Head - perfection. Can't recommend it too highly. Had the pleasure of staying for one night, having spent a most enjoyable day for the reception for Emma and Mark's wedding on 29.09.13. The whole atmosphere was magical and the buffet provided was second to none. Everywhere is tastefully decorated and the bedrooms are splendid. Our room had a superb four poster bed and it was immaculate throughout. Breakfast the following morning was first class. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Queens Head. There were 70+ guests at the reception and there wasn't one negative comment from any of the, which is quite something. In fact all those staying overnight couldn't praise the rooms enough, or the attention given all the time by every member of staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederick614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 492 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from out two nights stay at the Queens, they hosted our daughters wedding and we have had the most fantastic time ever, the rooms are beautifully decorated the bathrooms spotless, the staff went over and above to help and serve, from the kitchen to front of house nothing but nothing was too much trouble. The food was second to none, the breakfasts in the morning delicious we stayed in 103 where our dogs were allowed, ground floor brilliant for letting them out. Parking is not a problem as it usually is in Hawkshead as you are issued with a parking pass on arrival. We loved it, go sample it you will get hooked. Thank you Queens.

Room Tip: any room they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burghleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at lots of Hotels in the Lake District over the years but this was our first stay in Hawkshead.......but certainly not our last!!! From entering the hotel to book in our stay everything was faultless.
We visited with Mabel our dog and stayed in room 103.Our room, bathroom sitting area was lovely, and so so clean.
Breakfast was set up in the bar as we had Mabel with us. Again the Queens Head did not disappoint. Lovely cooked breakfast which was lovely and hot-always a bonus.

Anyone who can fault this hotel is just being " over picky".

Will see you again Queens Head.

Love Julie, Milly & Mabel. x

Room Tip: Room 103, All we needed was a kitchen to stay for a week
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights - the room we were in (room 8) was very luxurious - the bedroom and bathroom were the cleanest I have ever stayed in (definitely 5 star accommodation in my opinion) and the standard was maintained throughout the stay - we dined in the restaurant on the Saturday night (the website advised to book a table, which we were glad we did as the restaurant and pub were fully booked) the meal was beautiful and staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service. We also ate in the pub (menu same as restaurant) had another lovely meal. We had a few drinks in the bar each evening it was very busy and a nice atmosphere. Breakfast each morning was excellent: lovely buffet of fruit, cereal, fruit juices, Buck's Fizz etc and full Cumbrian breakfast was superb! All the staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We will definitely stay here again and recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Towie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place for a romantic mini break. Wonderful modern rooms, luxury and quality throughout. The restaurant in the evening provided amazing food and great service. Would return here again and again without question.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Waterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived unplanned. They had one room left for £125. We bartered down to £95. Lovely room (room 12), friendly staff, good breakfast. Would stay there again if visiting Hawkshead. It's quite expensive but so are all the other places in the area. I hate paying over the odds but I wouldn't say I felt ripped off with this. I'm a top complainer so if I've got nowt to whinge about it must be ok!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deanovibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and myself recently spent three nights at The Queen's Head in Room 3 which was large with a separate table and seating area, flat screen television on the wall and bathroom with separate shower and bath facilities.
Tea & Coffee making facilities were also provided, along with bath robes, good quality bathing products and a hair dryer.
The decor was modern, with warm colours and very welcoming.
There was an absence of a shaver socket in the bathroom, but ample plugs elsewhere. There was also no telephone in the room and cellular phone service was sporadic, and despite having been given the Wi-Fi code we were unable to access a a connection during out stay, however in fairness we were told that it may not be possible to access this in our room, but we couldn,t access it in the main area,s either.
There was also one window that did not open in our room as it appeared broken which may be an issue in warmer weather, however a fan was provided.

Room 3 is directly above the reception and bar and we were not affected by general pub noise, only when there was live music which was once during our stay.

We ate in both the restaurant and bar and were happy with the service, staff and quality of the food.
Bookings for the restaurant are recommended and the reception staff also reserved us a a table in the bar which was great as it can become very busy during peak times.

Breakfast was served from 8.00-10.00am and the selection was good with fruits, cereals and a hot food option. The morning staff were delightful and polite.

Parking was available in the main town car park with a pass provided by the property and just a short walk away.

Hawkshead itself is a beautiful quaint village with a selection of small shops, a supermarket and other options for eating.

We very much enjoyed our visit and personally had no issues with our accommodation, staff and overall stay and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,225 reviews
4.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: $124 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing