We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Spend the Weekend”
Review of Queen's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend the Weekend”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just got back from a lovely weekend in Hawks Head during which time we stayed at the Queens Head, and what an experience!

The refurbished rooms are gorgeous - genuinely, you would think you were in a boutique hotel rather than an old pub, I loved the décor. The bathroom was compact but modern and really clean.

Breakfast was very nice, served hot (always a bonus) by very hardworking, friendly and polite staff. We ate there both evenings and thought the food and the menu were very nice with lots of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    138
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
87
277
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a quick trip to the Lakes for an overnight stay in Hawkshead, we were really pleased we chose the Queen's Head Hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious and the food was absolutely fantastic! Couldn't fault anything, and we will return!

Room Tip: We did have noise from the kitchen extractor, however this did not spoil our stay. I would think if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently had a evening meal at the Queen's Head. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout the meal and the food was fantastic. The pizza's were very good and were freshly prepared on a light authentic dough. The wild boar sausages where very tasty and a good sized portion, served with mashed potato, mange tout and gravy. After eating at a number of other establishments in Hawkshead, this has to be the top restaurant in the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banksiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I used to stay at the Queens Head quite often but a few years ago decided to go elsewhere because the standard of the rooms had deteriorated with cobwebs and water stains on the walls on my last stay. However, when my favoured hotel was full recently, I looked for an alternative and noticed in some reviews that the Queens Head rooms had been refurbished, so I decided to give it another try as it is in a great location in the heart of the beautiful village of Hawkshead.

What a transformation! The room was lovely, very clean, with a great, modern shower room. Most of the staff were very helpful and in particular the lady who I think may have been the Manager or owner, who was very friendly.

I would certainly recommend the Queens Head now - great value in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed here for a short break in the brown cow cottage - this is the 3rd time we have stayed and was a pleasure to come back- the room was beautiful and loved everything about our stay - to find conditioner in the bathroom was a plus - thank you - we booked dinner b&b offer and could not fault anything - the complementary bottle of prossecco was also a good gesture - the food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty to choose from - no doubt we will be back again - thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 2- a superior double room which was fabulous!! Neither of us had even a small complaint; in fact, breakfast was also superior!! We met up with my daughter and her partner each evening. They were camping just down the road. We enjoyed the bar and sat outside when the weather permitted. There was live music on Saturday night and that was good fun.
I especially enjoyed the cocktails!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevie_Peevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I booked the 3 night New Year break at this hotel. Upon arrival, the staff showed to us to our room 'Trout Cottage', which was situated at the side of the pub. It was a beautifully decorated and very clean room with a huge en suite bathroom. We spent more time in the room than we initially planned due to illness and it was like a small home from home in its comfortability.

The deal was bed and breakfast for 3 nights along with a 5 course New Year's Eve dinner with glass of fizz. The dinner was absolutely gorgeous. Each course was a generous portion (and I eat a lot!) and was cooked and presented to a very high standard - especially as they were catering en masse.

At midnight, there were fireworks in the main square where a surprising amount of people turned up! It was a great atmosphere and a lovely way to spend the NY.

Location wise, it seems to be a good base for walkers. Hawkshead itself was quite quiet and there's not really much in the main village but if you wanted to go to Bowness on Windermere for the day, there's more to do and it's about a 20min drive away.

All in all, I would recommend The Queen's Head for NY. However, I thought the deal was quite expensive for a pub break but my husband wanted it as a treat and to be fair, everyone puts the prices up at NY. I do note that the deal this year is a little more expensive but it does include three course meals on the other 2 nights so it's probably a better deal. There are other pubs in the village which can be visited for food, but from what we ate at The Queen's Head this was the best.

Room Tip: Trout cottage is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Della C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Head Hotel

Property: Queen's Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond. We have thirteen newly refurbished comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests. Our celebrated restaurant, awarded an AA Four Star for culinary excellence, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Windermere
Hotel Queens Head
Queen's Head Hotel Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing