We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Term Hike”
Review of Grizedale Forest

Grizedale Forest
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic forest located in England's Lake District that serves as a recreation center for hiking and mountain biking, plus an outdoor "art museum" with numerous sculptures scattered throughout the forest.
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half Term Hike”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Grizedale is a must for anyone who wants to explore the Lake District but maybe isn't too familiar with a compass. All walks are marked by level of difficulty and length so you can pick and choose what suits .All the walks involve walking up hills through steams and forrest with plenty of fantastic views and sculptures along the trails.Do wear walking boots and not trainers /vans/heels as we saw some people struggling around in.There are also varying Mountain Bike Trails and Go Ape! all of which offer challenges of varying levels. The Visitors Centre has trail map , a shop and a large cafe serving hot and cold food most of the day. Grizedale is a good way to enjoy a rugged environment in a safe way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    224
    56
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So much to do in the area bikes/walks/go ape”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

it was all amazing catered for all ages and abilities, people very friendly, food in cafe bit on expensive side, but lots of picnic areas

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisjbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great walks”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good selection of walks and great childrens play ground if they have the energy at the end of the walk

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxing weekend”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I agree with angesouthport about the parking prices .
we walked around for about 1 1/2 hours seen a few dog walkers a realy good unwinding walk a good stress buster .
we stayed in a campsite in grizedale on a farm in a yurt from 12-14 october excellent few days Arthur was really friendly could not do enough for you on our site we had hot showers (bliss) separate toilet's which had a heater's on the wall so you was not cold going to toilet in the night ( no shocks sitting down when half a sleep) loads of walks to do the scenery you can`t fault. it rained abit but still did not spoil are few days the people are really friendly we went to the pub close by called the eagles head for our tea good value for money ( take a torch with you as no lights on way to pub) i would recomend going as you would enjoy your stay

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great day mountain biking in Grizedale forest. We rented full suspension bikes for 4 hours and did the 'North Face Mountain Biking Trail'. It was hard work, but really good fun! There are also tamer routes if you fancy cycling along at a slower pace.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizedale Forest also viewed

 

Been to Grizedale Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing