We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've eaten in this pub quite a few times as we visit Hawkshead every spring and autumn. It's decorated in a contemporary style, it's nice and clean and the staff are always friendly. The food is good - especially the lamb hotpot when it's on the menu and the boar burger. In the colder months the open fire is very welcoming and wonderful if you get the table next to it. We'll be back there again for a few drinks and some lovely pub grub in September.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McGillic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    150
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best chef in the lakes?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here for dinner and was expecting the usual pub fare, but was bowled over by the best mushroom rissotto I've ever had. husband reported that his meal was better than average too. If you are in the try it out. Decent range of local ales too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snodnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The last time we went here for something to eat we were left very disappointed.However,this time it had changed owners/chef and it was excellent.The Westmoreland pie was delicious and the steak was cooked to perfection.Staff are very friendly and we will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having first called in at a more highly TA-rated place in Hawkshead, which we didn't like very much, we went to the Sun and had a totally different experience -- really welcoming young staff who went out of their way to maKe sure that everything was right for us. And it was! The beer was excellent and the burgers heavenly. Great pub right in the heart of this beautiful Lakeland village.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Ale Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our first night in the Lake District and we needed some food, LOL. A short drive from where we were staying brought us to Pooley Bridge and this delightful pub.
Nice garden to sit in with plenty of tables spread around with stacks of room in between so you never felt 'in the way' of others.
Great selection of real ales (yes, yes, yes) with good, fast service even though the pub was busy.
We ordered food which was a difficult choice as the menu was extensive.
I went for the steak and ale pie. The gravy was thick and tasty with the flavour of the ale. The beef so tender it just melted in the mouth. The pastry, to die for. And the chips were the old fashioned chunky type. I would say, the BEST steak and ale I have ever had.
So if you are ever in that region, make the trip to Pooley Bridge and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norman1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing