We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly didnt want the business!”
Review of The Sun Tea Rooms

The Sun Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small but quirky cafe home of the giant cakes but also serving full meals from soups to our own cured and smoked meats
Helmsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clearly didnt want the business!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We drove 8miles from where we were staying for the weekend to sample the highly recommended cake, only to be turned away! I opened the door of the shop which was displaying the 'open' sign, to be abruptly told they were closed. I asked if we were able to get the cake to take away, but was told no as they had to set up for dining that evening. We were so disappointed as we had especially driven 8miles for their speciality cakes.But what disappointed me the most was the fact that as we walked back past 5minutes later, the same lady who turned us away invited a family in to eat who were browsing through the window! They clearly dont want the business and pick and choose when they want to take advantage of the tourism!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank SLS610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    75
    16
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's not just about the cakes”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This rates as one of the best meals we have had in the UK, from their chowder, soup of the day to seafood sandwiches and cassoulet. Small place with lovely staff. The main meals were attractively priced and delicious. But wait there is more - the cakes are worth driving miles for. The sponge Rasberry and pecan was one of the best ever, light, not rich, just beautiful. A place not to be missed, you may have to wait for a table but who cares

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The world's biggest cakes, but go for an evening meal as well.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The size of the cakes are unbelievable, and the portion of a slice is huge, but they are happy to provide a bag to take home most of the slice as you won't finish it. Best though are the evening meals on Friday and Saturday. Nice home cooked food in a nice atmosphere of the cafe. Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferretsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cakes look better than they taste!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

During our stay in Hawkshead we tried the cakes at The Sun Cafe. This place had been recommended to us and the cakes looked pretty impressive... We ordered the carrot cake to go and planned to have it when we got back home however when the cake was cut it didn't look great! On closer inspection when the cake was smelt it reeked of curry!!!! I did not dare try the cake as the smell was revolting, however someone else did and it was terrible! I myself make cakes on a weekly basis and have eaten carrot cake many times, none like this though!!! I took the cake back to the shop and got little by way of an apology or a refund, I was told that the cake had Cumin in it...???! I definitely will not be returning and would not recommend! The cakes may look impressive but taste awful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank districtnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
99Tracey, Owner at The Sun Tea Rooms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience or carrot cake at the Sun Cottage Cafe. The reason for the delay in response to your questions that day was dismay. That day we sold 37 slices of carrot cake with not one complaint. As for the no refund or apology been given you didn't give us a chance. You said what you had come to say and dashed back out the door. We at the Sun Cottage Cafe take pride in what we do and must say this is the first complaint we have had in the six years we have been making the cakes. If you would kindly send me your detail I will send you a refund. Once again we DO apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's the cakes that pull you in....”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Yes, the giant cakes in the window give you a 'Gulliver's travels' moment. They have people crossing the road; groups of tourists can be seen taking photos through the window. But there is substance behind the showmanship. You are pulled in by the monster cakes in the window but it isn't all show. The cakes themselves are very tasty, the service is fast and friendly and the other food on the menu is actually really good. So well done to this little cafe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to The Sun Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing