We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellant service friendly staff”
Review of Outgate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outgate Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellant service friendly staff”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

on the numerous times my husband myself and our 3 children have visited the outgate inn we have had a welcoming service, food has been of an excellent standard and the portions are just right, the bar staff are very helpful and friendly even at busy times of the year we find this to be a family friendly restaurant, prices for a family of 5 are very reasonable overall we are extremely satisfied customers when ever we visit the lake district again it will be a port of call

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubilee1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    65
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
134
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
612 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on 13th June with my partner. The location is very nice, peaceful and relaxing. The historical building itself has lots of character and charm. It is about a 20 minute walk into Hawkshead either across the fields or by following the road.
The room itself was nice and was adequate for the night. The room was quite small but this is understandably due to the age of the building. If you are going into the village I would leave the car in the hotel car park due to the high cost of parking in the village.
I would recommend the Outgate Inn on a future visit to Hawkshead

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This chap must have stayed at a different Outgate Inn to us. My wife and I have just had three nights at this Hotel. (12th to 15th June 2014). We wish it could have been 7 nights. The hotel is in a great spot, serves good beer with a smile, and the food, we could not describe as anything other than excellent. Does this bafoon expect to stay in a lovely rural setting and find a ten storey hotel with modern fittings. Of course the décor is homely and olde worlde, that's exactly what we would want to find from a pub in this part of the world. I could recommend a few in Manchester City Centre if he/she wants modern and noisy, and a price list to match. Get real man. The pub is great value for money, with friendly owners and nice clientele, not to mention good beer. It's location is ideal for walkers, cyclists or anybody just wanting to relax. We certainly hope we can return in the not too distant future. It was lovely. The Finchies.

Room Tip: The pub only has three guest rooms, but ours was roomy and pleasant. It doesn't matter which roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finchy660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Outgate Inn Hawkshead Cumbria we have just stayed there for two nights it was so relaxing Sue, Keith and Kay were lovely warm and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are spotless, cosy and comfortable. Food excellent we will defiantly go back in fact carn"t wait. Lynn, Billy, Pat and Joe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

i've been to the Outgate inn on a few occasions and always found it fabulous, its a great little local pub and the area would be worse off without it....my family and i ate here a few nights ago for my mums birthday and had a superb faultless meal, served by Keith, Sue and the team. I have to say i've never had a bad experience in the Outgate and can't understand some of the uncomplimentary reviews, i think quite probably someone hasn't got there own way and has sneaked off home to vent there spleen.
Keith and Sue and the team are a credit to their business and run a proper pub with real people who want to serve and look after you, very refreshing in this day and age and should be applauded for all there hard work, can't wait to return....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street, Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in late May.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. We had an evening meal on our first night, which was one of the best we had during our 10 night tour. I had a succulent plate of shoulder of lamb, while my wife had the steak pie, which she proclaimed as the best she has had.
The room was clean and comfortable, we would not hesitate to return to the Outgate, and recommend it to anyone looking for a central stay in south lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewoods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights, we thought the outgate was brilliant, food was lovely, owners were great and friendly and our room was lovely too, would definitely go back again as we really enjoyed our stay, was sad to leave, gorgeous place all together.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
2.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outgate Inn

Property: Outgate Inn
Address: Outgate, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Outgate Hotel Hawkshead
Outgate Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing