We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Warm welcome, great food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Outgate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outgate Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Warm welcome, great food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family of five, including a six year old, had taken a cottage nearby for a week, as we do each year in different parts of the Lake District. Given the region's reputation for wet weather we have been lucky in past visits, but not in 2012! Oh boy, did it rain!

After a very squelchy week we opted for a 'final night dinner' at the Outgate Inn, a pretty pub near Hawkshead we had passed several times during the week. We hadn't booked as it was an early meal, but the welcome couldn't have been more welcoming. Oak beams, a log fire and lots of ales to choose from!

The restaurant looked good, but we chose to eat near the cosy bar area. The landlord, Keith Barton, was friendly and attentive. Having quickly served our drinks, he immediately brought crayons and a colouring book for our grand-daughter before taking our food order, advising on each dish on the extensive menu.

The pub was filling up, but our food was served up, piping hot, in no time. A sizeable child's portion for our six year old and enormous portions for the rest of us, all 'home made' by Keith's wife Sue and staff I believe, and beautifully presented.

The prices were reasonable for meals of such quality and we emerged back out into the rain, happy and replete, a couple of hours later. A real gem of a place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    65
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
132
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were staying nearby and had enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Outgate so decided to book it for a 'special' evening meal as we had relatives visiting from abroad. Firstly they mxed up the time of our booking. It was for seven people for half seven. When we turned up at 7.30pm they seemed confused and said we should have been there for seven. A sign was in place saying no food could be orderd after 8pm as a large party was expected. Instead of us being in the restaurant we were shunted to a side area where several different sized tables were pushed together. (This was not referred to when we booked.) The restaurant was candle lit and tables had wine glasses etc arranged. We had a paper serviette and a knife and fork. We were asked to place our order immediately in order to facilitate a the large party of 19 people who were expected. Our guests were made to feel uncomfortable due to a number of comments that were made by staff about Americans although to be fair there were other americans in the pub. This may have been misunderstood (I hope.) The food was good but this was a far from special occasion and cost the same as it would have to go to a much nicer and more friendy establishment. We ALL agreeed it was an expensive let down

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casualelegance88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outgate I, Owner at Outgate Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
7.00pm,7.15,7.30,8.00pm.makes no difference to us, were here all night,if we seemed confused I appologies but you did turn up at 7.50pm still not a probem.
Would just like to clarify a few things, you booked a table, you did not specifie you wanted the restaurant if you had we would have said it was full that evening, however we gave you the snug area of the pub for your party, after all it is predominantly a pub and not a restaurant, INN sign on the outside being the giveaway. As for tables being pushed together this is the norm for larger parties, 18foot long tables are hard to by !
Has for the wine glasses in the restaurant, well they were drinking wine, if you ordered wine you get wine glasses quite simple really as for the serviettes you was given the same serviettes as the rest of the customers in the pub, we don't differentiate between customers, slight exaggeration there I think. You was given a knife and fork you say. These are the standard eating utensils for eating if you had something else in mind please enlighten me.
You say you was asked to place your order immediately, this is not true,i simply said I was about to take an order for a table of 20 but if you like I will take your order first so you don't have to wait, because trust me being stuck at the back of a table of 20 you would have had something to moan about.
You say your American guests were made to feel uncomfortable. What you fail to mention here is your American friends decided to kick off with the other American guests who were incidently all dinning in the restaurant, nothing to do with our staff what so ever. Your American friend reduced a member of our staff to tears, this by the way is were I took charge of your table, your lucky I didn't ask you to leave. Misunderstood..know how you've got the gaul to say that.

£200 for starters mains drinks works out a £28.57 each. I'd like to see you get value like that anywhere else in the lakes.
You also say you where staying nearby, lets get it right some of you live in grassmere and one member of your party also used to work on the boats on windowmere !
As for the trip advisor report you put on here..trust me we saw it coming from the moment you walked in.
And has for the food..we know its good, it's what we do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a really nice pub with friendly owners. The breakfast is good and the evening meals are also good but order early as the other reviews say. Definitely recommend it for a place to stay whilst walking in the area.

Just watch for the rather friendly spiders in the room!

Room Tip: We had a front facing room with a big bathroom, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently held a charity weekend walk around Hawkshead, We camped at Hawkshead Hall farm, very nice and great views. The Outgate Inn was our watering hole for dinner, then the next day breakfast and lunch. The chilli at in the evening was splendid, with a nice bite to it and the staff were very friendly, that together with the roaring fire made us feel really at home. After our walk the next day we were soaked through to the skin, so the home made hotpot and red cabbage was just the thing to perk us all up again. Well done The Outgate, we had a great time in your pub!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWelsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had dinner at this pub in September this year (2012). The menu is more extensive than many of the pubs around this area and the food quality was very good and not expensive. The service was also very good and we did not have to wait long for our dinner. I think that this was the best pub for food that we visited in this area.

Room Tip: The car park is opposite the builiding on the other side of the road (not behind the pub as we origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and found an above average pub (after finding the car park which was a bit hidden but close by). Had one of the best burgers I had eaten in a long time. Good atmosphere, good ale and friendly - not the cheapest food but good value for what you get - recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We called here for lunch a couple of times we sat outside the front as the sun was shining food was gd, staff friendly . It is on the main rd . I think the car park sign should be more obvious as we noticed alot of people looking as they went passed as they could not see the sign for the car park .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NANNA090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
2.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outgate Inn

Property: Outgate Inn
Address: Outgate, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Outgate Hotel Hawkshead
Outgate Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing