We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration Meal”

The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa in Grasmere is a luxurious and historic Lakes District Hotel that has hosted royalty, American presidents and world famous artists and poets. With its spectacular views out across the village of Grasmere and its access to the beautiful walks within the Lake District National Park ��� this is a fantastic weekend escape, and the hotel���s Signature Restaurant provides a two AA rosette worthy British menu. This restaurant has a cosy neutral d��cor with lashings of taupe and burgundy, and the family-run nature of this establishment ensures friendly service. Highlights from the menu include the breast of Scottish guinea fowl pot-roasted with broad beans and pancetta served with saffron potatoes, broccoli and red cabbage.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration Meal”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I did think the hotel could do with a bit of a refit, it was definitely a bit tired in places. However, our meal was outstanding and the service was brilliant. The waiter (David Beckham lookalike!) noticed, on my arrival, that I was opening birthday presents and, much to my surprise, the waitress arrived with a comlementary bottle of prosecco and four glasses half way through our meal, which was such a lovely surprise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    45
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with terrific service and food.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ok, if you like good service, good food and table clothes like me, then this is the place. There is an excellent menu to choose from and dinner guests are expected to dress appropriately. I had to where long pants and give up my shorts. However it was very well set up and clean and the service unbelievable. It was priced at a decent level maybe to $$$ sign, but very much worth it to me. I'd clearly go again. A+++++++

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came for Sunday lunch on a busy bank holiday weekend but inside the restaurant we could have been a million miles away! There were 9 adults in the party but the service was excellent and the food delicious. Value of money was exceptional (£15 for 2 courses) and the standard of food and service was definitely 5 star. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Once again the Wordsworth delivered. The food was good, the service excellent and the surroundings and atmosphere just right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“IF you love food you will love this heaven. My last meal was to die for.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Steak great. Starter fine. Sweet sweet. Kings would eat here every day. As I say it is heaven to enjoy good food with the family. Great hosts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mitchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing