We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumble Room

Jumble Room
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Jumble Room in Grasmere is now in its 20th year and from very humble beginnings their ethos has remained the same...Take the very best local and where possible organic ingredients and cook them with love and care.. Our small colourful little restaurant in Grasmere has become internationally renowned, not for pomp and circumstance but for a place to relax and forget our mad and hectic lifestyles...to escape....switch off... if only for a little while.... and leave with the light glowing a little brighter! It is said of the jumble room that it has soul, a small bohemian style restaurant, casual, honest, restorative and uncompromising in the pursuit of quality Prepared with love and served with pride!
1 review
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate at the Jumble Room last night and had the most fantastic meal! The atmosphere was lovely and relaxed and Carol was a great hostess! Next time we are down that way we will definitely be visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    140
    59
    33
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A totally unique experience, food, service and setting wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate at the Jumble Room on an overnight visit to Grassmere. It looked a bit different from other establishments and the menu looked interesting. We sat upstairs and were made to feel most welcome from the moment we arrived. The building is small but not cramped and the decor is lovely. We ordered all the items from the 'nibbles' section of the menu as we couldn't decide. This worked out well, it was a kind of tapas start to the meal. The squid and the risotto balls were superb. We had the Vietnamese curry which was every bit as good as it sounded. The desserts were heavenly too. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everybody visiting the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited the jumble room for tea, food was excellent, service was excellent all staff were so friendly, we had the jumble soup that was red pepper and coconut milk and the pork belly bites, then instead of the sirloin they had fillet, for the same price! It was cooked to perfection. A great experience and will definitely be returning soon! Thank you !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather_langan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great restaurant, great food and friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great restaurant, great food and friendly and helpful staff. Well worth a visit it is a very quaint restaurant down a little back alley but definitely worth looking for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little gem of Grasmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

What an amazing restaurant this is. Had dinner there last night, the service was brilliant and the food amazing. The pork belly bites were delicious and our steaks were cooked to absolute perfection. The decor is interesting and the tables with double couches are perfect for a romantic dinner. Highly recommend you try this restaurant if you are in Grasmere. We found it by accident and so pleased we did. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sh0rtShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumble Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Jumble Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing