We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and cushions make this very homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jumble Room

Jumble Room
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $77
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Jumble Room in Grasmere is now in its 20th year and from very humble beginnings their ethos has remained the same...Take the very best local and where possible organic ingredients and cook them with love and care.. Our small colourful little restaurant in Grasmere has become internationally renowned, not for pomp and circumstance but for a place to relax and forget our mad and hectic lifestyles...to escape....switch off... if only for a little while.... and leave with the light glowing a little brighter! It is said of the jumble room that it has soul, a small bohemian style restaurant, casual, honest, restorative and uncompromising in the pursuit of quality Prepared with love and served with pride!
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food and cushions make this very homely”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fancied eating somewhere a bit different and this fitted the bill. I went for the vegetarian options. Would have liked a little more choice for a main course but this was genuine home cooking in a quirky and unique environment. The service was friendly and attentive. It is pricey but people have to make a living and this is a generally expensive area. If you don't like the price then find somewhere cheaper and maybe not so caring. I'm not used to so many cushions on my chair but maybe that's just me. It's a good place and I'll recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    145
    59
    33
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent evening”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but I have just read the latest negative comments about The Jumble Room and felt moved to make a contribution. We were a table of 4 that ate there last Thursday evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the wine cold and refreshing. Also there was a good atmosphere about the place too and I would recommend it to anyone

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A big mistake”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

we have eaten at Jumbles on the recommendation of friends.we arrived mid sunday afternoon, the place was reasonably busy but we didnt have to wait. Ordered large fish and chips and played safe. My wife ordered mushroom soup
Again playing safe. The fish i was served was no bigger than a fish finger. At 15 quid l asked the waiter had there been a mistake. The waiter was rude and literally snatched my plate away.no alternative was offered. My wifes mushroom soup arrived which turned out to e spinach. I asked to see the manager only tobe told sh was with another customer. We paid for drinks a d left. Very dissapointed

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank WiganPaulRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Owner at Jumble Room, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
the very aggressive man..... and i normally dont get excited about this sort of thing but unfortunately non of this is true is it Paul.... you see you arrived telling everyone how angry you were that you couldnt get a room for an extra night in Grasmere on a bank holiday weekend as all the hotels we're full and your weekend had had to be cut short, so you we're already in a foul state of mind, you ordered fish and chips at £14.50 by the way....and a soup... the soup is made fresh and in between you ordering we had moved onto another, but you were apologised to but by then you'd seen your backside.....i have never ever served a piece of fish in my restaurant other than too a little child (who asked for a small piece ) of less than 10 ounces because that is all i buy 10-12 once haddock fillets and i can corroborate that with invoices dating back 17 years......(was it really the size of a fish finger...i think not!!)
the waiter, the lovely Jako, had your plate shoved back at him by yourself (not the way you tell it) because you aggressively asked him if this was a large portion, when told kindly by jako that it was "sir" you shoved it back at him and said you weren't paying, you never asked to talk to me or the manageress as she was near by and would happily have spoken to you. This review i'm afraid is exactly why tripadvisor is wrong and should be changed or stopped because if this happened in a court of our country where the said reviewer had to stand and swear on a bible and put his money where his mouth is, i know this would never go any further.
Its a travesty of lies that is written by an angry person who's had a bad day, its a shocking testament to the very poor standard of considered reviewing that is tripadvisor ....absolutely disgraceful and you Paul and you tripadvisor should be ashamed of yourselves....i think that is a shocking state of the country and life in general now where abusive aggressive behaviour is acceptable, you ruined that lads afternoon and all he wanted to do was look after you....disgraceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food in a cosy little restaurant.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had dinner there on Saturday night, 4th May 2013, and it was excellent. The staff are all very friendly local people, and the food is top notch. This is not the cheapest restaurant in Grasmere by any means, but we didn't come away feeling we had paid too much. Mind you we couldn't afford to eat there on a weekly basis. But if you like good food and good service, then this is the place to come. They seem to stagger the table booking times to cater for everyone equally, and that seemed to work very well. Just a glance at a few other plates nearby and they all looked superb. Twice we have visited and they had a Thai sweet curry on their menu both times, and they do make them very well, so I can recommend them. In fact I think I am now converted to that style of curry rather than the more common India style. Can't wait for another special occasion to justify a visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeatonIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantasic Atmosphere/Buzz; Average Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've been here 4 times over the last 2 years. Each time we have enjoyed the overall experience: Very welcoming/friendly atmosphere; lovely service; and the place has a real buzz - which many don't in the Lake District. However, the food isn't quite as good as it used to be - in fact, it is really only average - and, as others have mentioned recently, really quite expensive for what you get. We will probably go again.. but, as I said, it won't really be for the food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumble Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Jumble Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing