We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in room 6 a last min booking, was lovely very quaint, staff were very friendly, lovely breakfast, in a perfect location. Had been before but only to the tearoom didn't realise they did bnb, I recommend the hot choc xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
359
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Pros: We stayed in room 6 which is a lovely room, spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
Breakfast was average. Free parking. Central location.

Cons: Absolutely no welcome upon arrival. You have to take your shoes off whilst in the B&B at all times which we found a little tedious. Unorganised breakfast - we didn't receive what we had ordered even though we had completed a breakfast request form the night before.
Breakfast is served between 8:30-9:00am, which we found restrictive, and checkout time is 10am which is a little early.
Staff had a 'can't be bothered' attitude - e.g we asked a member of staff for an ironing- board and was greeted with a awkward silence followed by a baffling response ...'What do you need that for'? Eventually, a member of staff found an ironing-board, but stated that she 'Couldn't bothered bringing it up stairs'...so we had to iron our clothes in a vacant room.

Overall, we had a great time in the Lakes but due to the cons mentioned we would not return to Heidi's. First impressions really do count. Shame as it is a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fantastic little B&B right in the heart of the lakes. We only stayed for 1 night but will be coming back in a month or two. We stayed in Room 5 which is the smallest but is still a great room, low head room but we found this quirky and it has amazing views to wake up to, also loved the tv in the bathroom. Breakfast was also amazing and the perfect hangover cure. Will recommend this B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazLofthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This B&B is in a great location, right in the middle of Grasmere. Walks on the fells from the door and a lovely B&B.
I would never have a Tv in my home bathroom, but quite a treat when away.
Nothing is too much trouble, Heidi always goes the last mile to make our stay feel special.
Gorgeous bed, super pillows I can go on and on....

Room Tip: Room 1 is beautiful and has a massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early August this year and had a great stay at Heidi's. The staff are welcoming and friendly, room was cosey, clean, had character and a lovely view over Grasmere and the breakfast was fab. I liked the touch of choosing what hot breakfast items we wanted the night before - it worked really well we thought. Also loved that the tables in the breakfast room were numbered according to your room number so you had your own little table each morning - very cute.

Bathroom in room was lovely and our only slight complaint was the bed wasn't very long but that's just a standard double bed so not really an issue specific to the B&B. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend. Just wish we'd had enough time (and room after such a great breakfast!) to sample the team room as it looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jschocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from Heidi's (Room 6) - what a wonderful find! - we have taken holidays in The Lake District for many, many years and this has to be one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in - décor quirky, breakfast top-notch and the Illy coffee machine in the bedroom was a finishing touch - not to mention the complimentary bottle of wine. May we also wish Heidi every success with her new shop venture which is adjoining her café.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 6 cannot praise it enough the decor is beautiful and the view from the bedroom fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than enough for anyone but Im sure if you asked for another egg that would not be a problem either. The little tea shop serves very nice cakes and tead all with a smile. I did notice tha the bottle bears for sale are very over prices over £ 3.00 a bottle for something you can get for a £1.00 in tesco still we all have to male a proffiit and if tourists are willing to pay that price so be it. As a guest of the B&B you 10% discount in the tea rooms. The B&B is very well decorated with lots of things dotted around the place and each day you notice something different. I completely fell inlove with the Pinochio that you see as you enter.. Everything is within easy walking distance of the B&B wordsworth, Hill top for a further walk also. I would suggest you walk round Grasmere lake a beautiful walk. Igonre the comments on here about taking you shoes off as some people have found this off puting reading some of the comments. You would not walk up your own stairs in moody boots so you should not here either especially as there are light cream carpets. It all makes for the homly feel you get. I have staying in may B&B over the years and around the lakes and I have to say that this is one of the best I have stayed in first class, superb cannot find a thing wrong with it. You will not be disapointed if you stay at all. I will always book here in future.

Room Tip: room 6 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing