We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from Heidi's (Room 6) - what a wonderful find! - we have taken holidays in The Lake District for many, many years and this has to be one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in - décor quirky, breakfast top-notch and the Illy coffee machine in the bedroom was a finishing touch - not to mention the complimentary bottle of wine. May we also wish Heidi every success with her new shop venture which is adjoining her café.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 6 cannot praise it enough the decor is beautiful and the view from the bedroom fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than enough for anyone but Im sure if you asked for another egg that would not be a problem either. The little tea shop serves very nice cakes and tead all with a smile. I did notice tha the bottle bears for sale are very over prices over £ 3.00 a bottle for something you can get for a £1.00 in tesco still we all have to male a proffiit and if tourists are willing to pay that price so be it. As a guest of the B&B you 10% discount in the tea rooms. The B&B is very well decorated with lots of things dotted around the place and each day you notice something different. I completely fell inlove with the Pinochio that you see as you enter.. Everything is within easy walking distance of the B&B wordsworth, Hill top for a further walk also. I would suggest you walk round Grasmere lake a beautiful walk. Igonre the comments on here about taking you shoes off as some people have found this off puting reading some of the comments. You would not walk up your own stairs in moody boots so you should not here either especially as there are light cream carpets. It all makes for the homly feel you get. I have staying in may B&B over the years and around the lakes and I have to say that this is one of the best I have stayed in first class, superb cannot find a thing wrong with it. You will not be disapointed if you stay at all. I will always book here in future.

Room Tip: room 6 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Once again we stayed at Heidi's and again not disappointed by the warm welcome and the quality of the rooms. To stay in grasmere is In itself a lovely thing but, to stay in Heidi's makes it even more special. A really lovely well kept place. Will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay! "Heidi's" is right in the centre of Grasmere and fortunately has its own car park. From the moment we arrived (late!) the staff were welcoming and helpful. We stayed in room 1 which is spacious, light and airy. It is on the 1st floor and has a huge balcony with views over the village and the hills. The TV in the bathroom is a nice extra! The super king size bed was very comfortable as were the pillows and huge duvet. The whole place is prettily decorated......lots of cushions, white painted furniture, wooden shutters, printed textiles and cream carpets! You are asked to remove your shoes before going upstairs. Not a problem. Breakfast was very good but cooked items had to be ordered the night before. I prefer not to do this but that is my only small issue as otherwise "Heidi's" is a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely with a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the start of September. I don't have much experience of B&B as we have most holidays under canvass, so this was the height of luxury for us. We found the room (room 5) very comfortable although some might find it a bit small - I believe other rooms are bigger. The decor will not be to everyone's taste (we counted eight ornamental bird boxes in the dining room!) but you can get a good idea what it is like from the web site. The staff are very friendly and the food is great. My only niggle is that I would have liked to be able to have breakfast a little later than 9 am - after all, we were on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after deciding to visit Grasmere again now we live nearer. We were made very welcome and despite being early our room was available and very nice. We knew we were in the top of the building but found Room 5 perfect for us with a good spacious bathroom. All of the staff were very helpful and Heidi seems to be perfectly suited as the hostess. Breakfast was great and the dinner recommendations were very good. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Nothing bad to say, but a number of minor niggles that prevent me from scoring it higher. Room 1 was large and comfortable, the decor was not to our taste, but that is fine. It was well equipped with a nice bathroom. Breakfasts were good and staff generally friendly.
This is several people's livelihoods so I don't make criticisms lightly and it is just our opinion.
We arrived later than we intended, but before 6pm. We rang ahead and left a voicemail to sayso. After a long drive we arrived. We rang the bell and waited... and waited... and waited. Finally a young man opened up and with quite poor english booked us in. Then he asked us to remove our shoes! What, this a B&B not a private house... all I can imagine is that they made a poor choice in chosing cream carpets. So in the room there is a folder giving you information, but the tone of it is don't do this, don't do that... we will charge you for this, charge you for that...
Nothing that spoilt our stay, but we came away with the impression that it was all about the owner not about the customers.
We wouldn't stay here again but out of personal choice rather than any caution to other potential clients.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing