We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just spent four nights at this lodge, the room we were given was clean and tidy but a bit on the small side,the bathroom was very modern with a large shower cubicle and bath with a feature tv at the end to watch while soaking.However the tv in the bedroom only had bbc1/2 so if you like to watch any of your favourite programms you have to sit on the toilet seat or in the bath.As we were staying for 4 nights we would have liked more room and storage space,on looking round the other rooms they were much larger than ours we had room 2. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was of a good standard. On arrival we had complimentary coffee in the cafe and small bottle of wine was awaiting us in our room also botttled warter on a daily basis.As we were walking in the lakes we were aware that having muddy boots we were asked to remove all footwear at all times entering the staircase and when moving around the lodge even going down for breakfast. parking is very tight and on a first come basis.We would recommend this accomodation for people wanting a few nights stay and there are many places to eat within 3 minits walk in any direction.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front can be a bit noisey but they are beautifully furnished room 3 is the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Don't bother.....spend your hard earned money somewhere else...you can get a lot better than this for your money. My husband and I booked this to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We arrived at the allocated booking time, which I must say was very tight. You are greeted by a rather sad looking side entrance. The door was locked..... but luckily another guest happen to be in the rather poky hallway and let us in. There was no sign of any staff at all!! We had noted from the booking advert that there was 'limited' parking available for guests.....but again no indication of where the parking was and NO staff to ask!!! Again we had to rely on this guest to 'show us' where it was......around the back of an adjoining village hall, with no directions at all!! My husband parked up why I waited alone in the hallway, I had rung a brass bell but nobody came. You immediately felt miffed, uncared for.....and we hadn't even got to the room yet!! Eventually, after much ringing, a rather uninterested foreign man appeared with no apologies for our wait or even a pleasant greeting!! We were just asked to remove our shoes (I fully appreciate that if guests our coming in with wet or muddy boots, it is required that you remove them....but I didn't appreciate been 'ordered' to remove my 'clean' footwear. Now for the good bit....the room was pretty and clean...not much of a view but still pretty......but that is all I can say!! The tv only had BBC 1 and 2.....oh and BBC Parliament channel....just what you want on a romantic break....not! Non of the other channels worked. No radio, no phone. The jacuzzi bath, had hand drawn unclear instructions and we couldn't get that to work either. In the room was a price list for drinks that could be ordered to your room......chilled Prosecco for £10, so we wanted to order some of that and inquire about the no signal tv and confusing jacuzzi instructions. We went downstairs.......but no one to be found anywhere. We repeatedly rang the bell, getting more and more frustrated arrggg!! Eventually we saw a note on a cork board saying that if you require to speak to 'Heidi' to call this number. So we rang it......and rang it and rang it!!!!! We even tried a landline number but nothing. So after endless bell ringing in the hall and mobile phone ringing......we got nothing!!! No properly working jacuzzi, no properly working tv, no drinks.....nothing!!!! The service wasn't just bad, it was non existent!!!!! When you pay £110 a night, you are not just paying for a bed, you are paying for a service and to be looked after and to be made to feel welcome. We ate our breakfast in the small breakfast room,without complaint in the morning, so not to upset the other guests with our ranting and annoyance. ( another point.... Breakfast only served between 8.30am till 9am, ridiculous!) Had to vacate by 10am......no leisurely breakfast and reading the papers for us!! On departure we politely voiced some of our disappointments to the 'still uninterested' foreign gentleman, who offered NO proper apologie, just a ' shrugg of the shoulders' attitude arrrgggg!!!! Our anniversary trip was ruined by a utterly disappointing place to stay...........Please heed my words and DON'T BOTHER STAYING AT HEIDI'S!!!!!!!! You wud get better service sleeping in a bus shelter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theharwoodgrasmere, Owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do find some of your comments rather unkind and feel i must point out to readers that you did make an attempt to leave without paying your bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent 3 days there late April 2013. Having read a number of reviews on TripAdvisor I was certain we had made a good choice and I was not disappointed.
Heidi keeps a very clean and smart establishment with attentive staff, the room ( 4) was huge as was the excellent bathroom it had a walk-in shower, bath and even a TV.
Breakfast was good with never ending beverages and toast, the onsite cafe offers a discount for guests but we never used.
As other posters have pointed out some of the rooms have beamed ceilings so my 6 ft 3 in frame cracked them on a number of occasions so best check when booking.
Grasmere is one of the last traditional villages left in the Lakes and with lodgings like Heidi's it will always be my favourite

Room Tip: Check for low roof beams in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keefbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We turned up in Grasmere on " spec " and opted to stay at Heid`s ...room 5.

The hotel was beautifully set out , really homely . Staff were excellent and very friendly . Room 5 had " duck " signs , which were needed , if you are tall don't opt for this room !!, low ceiling beams , that said the room was very nice and very clean , bathroom was excellent , tv was a real bonus in there . Full breakfast was superb , all local produce for "full English " , car park at rear is small with a first come first parked option , so get there early , but was a bonus being right in the centre of the village .

Would definitely stay again , but opt for a bigger room , but ideal for an overnight stay .....thanks

Room Tip: low ceilings in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Heidis lodge is simply delightful.The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated.The bathroom was spacious and once again immaculate,boasting a tv which you can watch while having a wonderful soak.Breakfast included local produce,and was served by lovely staff,making sure you enjoyed your experience,,nothing was a problem to them.My husband booked this gem as part of my birthday celebrations.It was the perfect end to a very busy week and I would strongly recommend this wonderful,peaceful logde which is simply a credit to the owners and the staff that uphold such standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast, rooms exactly as stated on website, quaint and spotless. Ideal position right in the middle of Grasmere, but very peaceful and quiet. Lots of cafes to choose from although Heidis cafe underneath is brill. We will definately go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are of high standard. We had room 4, if very tall not advisable. Low beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh12e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Heidis lodge is a nice hotel situated in the lovely village of Grasmere . We stayed in room 6 which was a well presented mini suite with a lovely spiral staircase leading from a small sitting room to a nice bedroom with lovely views.The room also had a nice bathroom. The breakfasts were good and overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing