We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Christmas Pamper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burscough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pre-Christmas Pamper”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A stay at Heidi's comes highly recommended. Nothing is too much trouble - from making dinner reservations to providing our cheeky bottle on arrival - it was just what we needed for a pre-christmas getaway to the Lakes. The TV in the bathroom was also a bonus when enjoying a soak in the bath. So to were the hearty breakfasts that greet you in the morning - we will definitely be coming back.

Thank you very much indeed to Heidi and her team for making us very welcome indeed!

Other places of interest: The Jumble Room and Tweedies Bar for evening meals are a must too.

Mike & Jenny
Burscough, Lancashire

Room Tip: Room 4 is great but mind your head on the beams, if you're a bit clumsy like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
361
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A very comfortable hotel where the owner and staff could do no more to be helpful and welcoming - even to the point of driving guests to and from the cinema when the local roads were threatening to flood one night. The bedroom and bathroom were both large and luxuriously fitted-out, also spotlessly clean. Breakfast is huge and locally-sourced. Free guest car park is a bonus in this village, avoiding the need to use public car parks. Very centrally placed in the National Park, and high quality dining available in Grasmere itself (check out "The Jumble Room") and in nearby Ambleside. A great location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited for Lunch. The atmosphere was warm and inviting from the moment we walked in. Nice choice of panini's and the coffee was lovely and hot. Great customer service. Didn't stay the night, but it looked like it would be a lovely place to stay. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I chose this because of the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. A lovely warm welcome by Heidi herself. My room was 5 so cheaper due to the low beams, i did knock my head a few times when up in the dark. TV in the bath lived up to the reviews, the unexpected colourfuland big towels were great helped by an efficient big heated towel rail. Added touches was a bottle of water in the room, coffee and tea making, free sat tv.

Happy with the removal of shoes as they do get very muddy walking, and paying up front made check out non-existent. Breakfast was plentiful.

If I was being really picky I would say that the poor english of one of the staff felt like a sell out - however this seems to be the same in all of the lakes nowadays. Otherwise service was fantastic. I would definetly come back and recommend this to anyone, the parking shouldn't be overlooked as a fantastic benefit.

Room Tip: go for a lower floor if you can't do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a long weekend stay at Heidis and will definatley be staying there again, could not fault a thing staff were great, the breakfast fantastic the room was large with well laid out bathroom Bath (TV set in wall) with separate shower underfloor heating all very clean, bedroom had very large comfortable bed all bedding was quality & a pod coffee maker which made a cracking cup of coffee the whole stay in stay in this fantastic Hotel made me & my wife want to go back it seems to have a personal touch with alot of care put into what is offered. The food served at breakfast & in the cafe is top quality the take away service is good too ideal for a packed lunch on the fells.

Room Tip: Each room at Heidis offers something different Room 1 large, with bath, shower, & terrace/balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just had great weekend at heidi's , 3rd time in last 12 months we have stayed and each time is better than the last . Getting ready to re-book again . Breakfast is great and the people who work there are marvellous , always friendly and willing to help . Xx jo payne teesside

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location right in centre of village.Room 1 was superb,well fitted, big room with massive bed.Bath and seperate shower.First time I've ever watch tv in the bath,pity there was no football on :-)
The large balcony overlooks the street,not so useful during October,but would be great in the warmer weather with a glass of wine(complimentary in room on arrival)
Good idea to not allow shoes, as the place is spotless.Small hallway to change into slippers if required.
Great breakfast to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Room 1. Large room with extra king size bed,large balcony overlooking village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing