We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited for Lunch. The atmosphere was warm and inviting from the moment we walked in. Nice choice of panini's and the coffee was lovely and hot. Great customer service. Didn't stay the night, but it looked like it would be a lovely place to stay. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    70
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
360
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I chose this because of the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. A lovely warm welcome by Heidi herself. My room was 5 so cheaper due to the low beams, i did knock my head a few times when up in the dark. TV in the bath lived up to the reviews, the unexpected colourfuland big towels were great helped by an efficient big heated towel rail. Added touches was a bottle of water in the room, coffee and tea making, free sat tv.

Happy with the removal of shoes as they do get very muddy walking, and paying up front made check out non-existent. Breakfast was plentiful.

If I was being really picky I would say that the poor english of one of the staff felt like a sell out - however this seems to be the same in all of the lakes nowadays. Otherwise service was fantastic. I would definetly come back and recommend this to anyone, the parking shouldn't be overlooked as a fantastic benefit.

Room Tip: go for a lower floor if you can't do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a long weekend stay at Heidis and will definatley be staying there again, could not fault a thing staff were great, the breakfast fantastic the room was large with well laid out bathroom Bath (TV set in wall) with separate shower underfloor heating all very clean, bedroom had very large comfortable bed all bedding was quality & a pod coffee maker which made a cracking cup of coffee the whole stay in stay in this fantastic Hotel made me & my wife want to go back it seems to have a personal touch with alot of care put into what is offered. The food served at breakfast & in the cafe is top quality the take away service is good too ideal for a packed lunch on the fells.

Room Tip: Each room at Heidis offers something different Room 1 large, with bath, shower, & terrace/balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just had great weekend at heidi's , 3rd time in last 12 months we have stayed and each time is better than the last . Getting ready to re-book again . Breakfast is great and the people who work there are marvellous , always friendly and willing to help . Xx jo payne teesside

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great location right in centre of village.Room 1 was superb,well fitted, big room with massive bed.Bath and seperate shower.First time I've ever watch tv in the bath,pity there was no football on :-)
The large balcony overlooks the street,not so useful during October,but would be great in the warmer weather with a glass of wine(complimentary in room on arrival)
Good idea to not allow shoes, as the place is spotless.Small hallway to change into slippers if required.
Great breakfast to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Room 1. Large room with extra king size bed,large balcony overlooking village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in Room 1 in October 2012. The room was superb with a huge balcony looking out onto the village. Immaculately clean, lovely bedding and soft pillows and quilts. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are superb and we recommend the the sandwiches /rolls to take with you for lunch on the fells.
Very high standards. We will return. As for taking shows off - no probelm at all to us. Those fells and riverbanks can be very muddy, I would much rather shoes off and clean carpets than grubby carpets. Keith & Jennie

Room Tip: Room 1 - superb balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theharwoodgrasmere, Owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thankyou for your valuable comments. The team here would love to welcome you back. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Heidi's might be a lovely place, there are limits to the perfection specially when it doesn't work in the end!!!!
Ok I understand it's a rainy country and they want to keep the place clean, but asking people to take off their shoes while there is a white carpet all over the place is a bit too much!! and the first thing you get when you arrive is the remaining of your bill to pay straight away.
The cherry on the cake is the beakfast that you have to order the night before as you only have between 8.30 and 9.00 to take it and waiting half an hour when there is only 12 people.
Luckely the room are very nice.
Heidi should be less military to give place to a trully warmer welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theharwoodgrasmere, Owner at Heidi's Grasmere Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I feel your comments are rather unfair as these things were explained to you on the telephone prior to you going ahead with the booking, e.g. removal of shoes and balance payable on arrival. I think that may be Heidi's Grasmere Lodge was just not for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Grasmere Lodge

Property: Heidi's Grasmere Lodge
Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SP, England (Formerly The Harwood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Grasmere. Fabulous en-suite rooms with stunning views. Beautiful furniture & furnishings. Guest lounge. Car parking. Traditional Cumbrian breakfast. A real romantic retreat where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Heidi's Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Grasmere Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing