We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best guest houses in Grasmere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beck Allans Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best guest houses in Grasmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have visited Grasmere on many occasions and this is an excellent choice if you require accommodation in the centre of the village and do not wish to stay at one of the larger hotels. The Guest House is of traditional Lake District stone. The River Rothey is adjacent and is the View from Some of the rooms. The rooms are modern and have excellent facilities with the usual items (tea making / large TV / WiFi etc..) They are well furnished and spotlessly clean. One minor drawback is the size as if you want to spend time relaxing then our room 3 had only one seat in addition to the bed to sit on. Room 2 is better but here the WC is separate from the shower room and some might find this inconvenient? Breakfasts are splendid offering the traditional full English as well as many and varied alternatives. Ian and Christine, the hosts, are extremely friendly and helpful. Just ask and they will do their best to help.
There are several good restaurants/hotels, open to non-residents, in Grasmere but many can be moderately expensive so you can increase your choice by driving to Ambleside for a much wider selection.
There was a minor problem with parking facilities whilst we were staying in that there was scaffolding in place on the adjacent Beck Allan self-catering apartments (owned separately). They
share the relatively cramped car park and if there are large cars (eg SUVs) then care is needed when parking.

Room Tip: See main review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaguarWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
148
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Christine and Ian are great hosts and go the extra mile to help you out and make you feel comfortable. Lovely room in the historic building, but with new and modern ensuite bathroom facilities. Ian gave excellent advice on hiking trails, dining options, and car routes through the Lake District. Breakfasts were special and delicious. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have had 3 very enjoyable days at the Beck Allen. A peaceful night sleep and then servied with an excellent breakfast. Very charming hosts with amazing cake on arrivel and also a slice to bring home.Angela Rossa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a lovely stay in this quality B&B right in the centre of Grasmere. Very peaceful location. The room was immaculate with beautiful linen, towels and toiletries, as good if not better than some of the top hotels in the area. Lovely and quiet too for a peaceful night's sleep. Excellent breakfasts too with good choices for vegetarians as well. Lovely hosts. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just spent the Spring Bank Holiday weekend at Beck Allans and could not fault it in any shape or form. The hosts are charming, the service excellent & Room 2 very classy with a beautiful view over the 'Beck'. Situated well in the heart of the Village its within a stones through of all the quaint offerings Grasmere has to sample. To top it all the breakfasts are outstanding with plenty of variety and choice. All in all a little more than you would expect to pay for a B&B but worth EVERY single penny. Well done to Ian & Christine...fantastic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beck Allans Guest House is fantastic. We are a party of 5 friends who meet up once a year for a 3 day walking holiday. This is our 8th year together, we have stayed in masses of different B & Bs and we all rated our Grasmere visit a 5 star triumph. It is brilliantly situated in the heart of Grasmere, the rooms are spotless and very well equipped, the water piping hot (essential at the end of an energetic day spent exploring the stunning countryside), the breakfasts are delicious and Ian and Chrissie are charming and very helpful hosts. We cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Grasmere is a lovely town, very touristy, but this B&B was a nice sanctuary. Spotlessly clean, the best shampoo and conditioner ever (oh, the silky bounce) and really lovely breakfasts. Our hosts were gracious, helpful and engaging, and took us outside to see some of the rare visiting ducks in the river by the house. Our room overlooked the river and was nice and cosy with everything we needed, a little on the small side, but reflected in the price and we managed well by stowing the suitcases in the wardrobe. Anyway, only needed to be in there to sleep as the Lake District has so much to offer - we headed into Ambleside to a lovely independent cinema one evening - your hosts will tell you all about the venues (three independent cinemas, one with a jazz bar, another with a vegetarian restaurant). All in all a lovely stay, would be back in a moment if we had the chance to have a lovely breakfast in the dining room overlooking the river, hills and fields. Just perfect!

Our lovely hosts were understanding and supportive regarding my husbands food allergies, we supplied our own gluten free bread and they stored it and prepared it for him in the mornings. That was nice, I thought :)

Room Tip: There are two flights of stairs, so if this is an issue, and you have the opportunity to book in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank academic013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beck Allans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beck Allans Guest House

Property: Beck Allans Guest House
Address: College Street, Grasmere LA22 9SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beck Allans Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditionally built, Lakeland house which is concealed in the grounds and quietly situated adjacent to and overlooking the River Rothay. We are located in the centre of Grasmere village, in the Heart of the English Lake District, 4 miles from Ambleside, 8 miles from Windermere and 12 miles from Keswick. It certainly provides a high degree of comfort being double glazed, centrally heated, tastefully decorated and well furnished accommodation throughout. Our superior rooms contain king sized beds, one has a Super King size or Twin bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beck Allans Guest House Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing