We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very overpriced Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

Very overpriced Guesthouse. Yes this does deserve the 5 star GUESTHOUSE rating, but it is priced as a 5 Star HOTEL. The Organic differentiator deserves a small premium on costs but £175 per night is £75 too much - for example, the 4 Star Melia white house in London charges this for a junior suite with breakfast and Tapas dinner and all the wine, beer, tea you can drink - Moss Grove charge for a room and breakfast. Decor nice, breakfasts very good (I don't do fry-ups and neither do the Moss Grove). Service is pleasant, but very much at arms length with no-one being present and the "hotel" empty except between 3 and 9pm and 8:30 and 10am. This hotel is nice for a treat for a special occasion, but I doubt that many people return again.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Poor value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Land1Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    95
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
21
293
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

Best thing about this hotel was the bed, every thng else was very average and very expensive. We were not told about the restricted head room in our £195 a night room,.We had to struggle up and down stairs with cases ourselves. The breakfast was not sufficent to sustain a days walking and we had to clear up our selves, rather like a youth hostel. There wasn't a waste bin in the bathroom nor space to use for toiletries. It did not feel like a hotel , there is only a skeleton staff who were friendly but it had no atmosphere, we were disappointed .

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank freya56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

Managed to get a booking here via laterooms.com for Easter. The hotel has been open just under a year and is set in the heart of the village. We had a superior room with a balcony.

Plus points - Big rooms decorated to a very high standard. We found the owners very helpful - they suggested a restaurant for tea and recommended we book in advance. The breakfast was very good (we knew in advance that there was no cooked option) - that said there were masses of cereals, fruits, breads and ham / cheese etc - more than enough. There is a big lounge where you can eat breakfast at a dining table or in a more comfortable chair - all very relaxed.

On the downside - I do think it is quite expensive (even for the Lakes) - maybe the prices will get adjusted as time goes on. There were also a couple of little touches missing e.g. No shower gel in the bathroom, or tissues in the bedroom, no complimentary newspapers (or the option to buy one) and the lounge could do with a bit more atmosphere (like some background music at breakfast) or free tea/coffee in the afternoon.

I would probably stay again but whilst it would be my first choice for Grasmere it wouldn't be my first choce for the Lakes.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank great_gable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2007

The hotel was advertised on late rooms at a 20% discount rate. To cut out the middle man ( and related cost to the hotel) I booked directy with the hotel and the reduced rate just the day before arrival. Later the same day my mother became critically ill and I was unable to travel. On phoning the hotel we learned about the penalty of forfeiting the cost of the first night -£125. They did offer instead to 'hold' the deposit and deduct from my next booking. I have never asked for a refund , only that I can have my hard earned cash deferred to the next booking - as they offered. The hotel now renages on that offer and instead offers a 20% and ignores emails on the subject. We are always on the lookout for a 'bolt hole' for regular trips within easy driving and this looked like it . But now we won't go at all. So beware when you book - at these prices, even in London reputable hotels offer flexible rates with cancellation up to 4 pm on day of arrival . Not so in the Moss Grove.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank EllbeeGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York . UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

It is very expensive , for an upmarket B&B / Guest House , but on balance just about worth it . Right in the centre of Grasmere and perfect if you want to leave the car and walk ( just as well as the car park is small and rather chaotic ) .There are easy walks to nearby Lakes or the real thing either up to Helvellyn or Fairfield . The rooms are grt , bathrooms fantastic ..and as said by another reviewer not worth trying to watch the TV . Breakfast different but excellent , probably not if you do not get a table and have to take back to your room on a tray . We would go back....but not rushing .

  • Liked — location , bathroom ,breakfast
  • Disliked — carpark , TV
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

Although it was V expensive £155 for a superior room, we thought we would spoil ourselves, it looked fab. You can only arrive between 3 & 9, presumably the hoteliers have better things to do outside of these hours, room was of a reasonable size with a big high bed & we had a balcony, but no outdoor furniture, basic facilities in room & bathroom, bring your own soap, no bathrobes , no bottles of water. Our host was not helpful in advising us where we could dine & unfortunately he did'nt suggest that we should book early or all restaurants would be full, so take note. Breakfast was a joke, cold buffet of seeds & nuts, a few cereals & some bread & a small selection of yoghurts. There's a lovely kitchen with a big cooker (unused) & a host doing what! nothing, So its self service then you share one table with anyone else who's bothered to eat. We won't be returning, we expect much better value for our money & a proper breakfast.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price & breakfast or lack of it.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

We booked online with LateRooms.com, and looking at the site and the hotel's own site there was no indication that they do not allow children at the hotel.

When we turned up with a 1 year old baby we were treated as dishonest fraudsters by a pair of incredibly rude people (who may or may not be the proprieters, I don't know). We were thrown out at 4pm with a small child and nowhere booked for the night. (We did get our £175 back of course).

I don't object to a "no children" policy, but considering they don't mention it anywhere it is fair to assume that the problem was just a mix up. In those circumstances I would expect staff at an expensive 5-star hotel to be apologetic and to lean over backwards to try and find us alternative accomodation. The arrogance and lack of charm of the people we dealt with was breathtaking.

  • Liked — Didn't get to find out anything good!
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank w0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Property: Moss Grove Organic
Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing