We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably rude!”
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievably rude!”
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We booked online with LateRooms.com, and looking at the site and the hotel's own site there was no indication that they do not allow children at the hotel.

When we turned up with a 1 year old baby we were treated as dishonest fraudsters by a pair of incredibly rude people (who may or may not be the proprieters, I don't know). We were thrown out at 4pm with a small child and nowhere booked for the night. (We did get our £175 back of course).

I don't object to a "no children" policy, but considering they don't mention it anywhere it is fair to assume that the problem was just a mix up. In those circumstances I would expect staff at an expensive 5-star hotel to be apologetic and to lean over backwards to try and find us alternative accomodation. The arrogance and lack of charm of the people we dealt with was breathtaking.

  • Liked — Didn't get to find out anything good!
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank w0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    99
    47
    22
    14
See reviews for
22
306
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed here over new year, and must say we were most impressed, the hotel is family run, and Jackie the owner is very welcoming and found time to chat and make you feel homely, although advertised as a hotel, we found that it had a more, guest house bed and breakfast feel to it, this wasn't a bad thing! The deco inside is fabulous and very tastfully decorated. The bathrooms are truly gorgeous and the bedrooms are equipped with a high end Bose entertainment system, The location is abolutely perfect for grassmere, a very short walk from the world Famous Gingerbread shop and Old Church, where Wordsworth is buried. I highly recommend The Moss Grove and will deffinately go back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rufussufur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Excellent standard of room, with fab bathroom and the spa bath was well used !! The service we received was friendly and helpful, with recommendations of local restaurants and pubs and we were really glad we listened. Jumbos as mentioned before is a must, worth every penny !

Delightful quaint village, didnt feel the need to travel elsewhere, overall would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. Earlier comments criticised the breakfast arrangements but we were invited to take it back to our room which was a nice touch. The variety and amount of food on offer was great, didnt eat until tea time !
There is also a small DVD collection which was great for when we returned from the pub.

  • Liked — Spa Bath and personal service
  • Disliked — No view from the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in Jumbos!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

An average 4star. After paying £155 I expected luxury and got merely an above average hotel room.
Pay this money else where and you;ll get alot more.
Not even a hot breakfast.
Disappointed :(

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — COST!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't use, unless care free with money
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Property: Moss Grove Organic
Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing