We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mis-advertised as a hotel, this is a B&B!”
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Don't get me wrong, it was a beautiful 5* B&B but shouldn't be advertising itself as a 5* hotel! There are no services, bar or restaurant and no-one on reception after 9pm. The Mediterranean buffet was different but for £145 i expected a full English Breakfast . You help youself to the breakfast and sit in the communal lounge essentially like a hostel. We essentially paid £145 for a very expensive, but beautiful, bedroom.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyLancashire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 410 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for one night as a Birthday treat. We were in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel with a small balcony. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who was very friendly. She showed us to the room which was immaculate, wonderful reclaimed timber furniture and good sized TV with DVD player. Lots of nice touches such as supplies in bathroom and selection of fair trade teas etc. on hostess tray. Can't fault it at all. She also recommended somewhere to eat when we asked, again a brilliant pub/restaurant choice with food to die for! Spa bath was a real treat. Thought it was a really nice touch that the breakfast was laid out in the kitchen and that you could eat it in your room if you wished to. Local sausages certainly hit the spot! My only regret is that because of a family crisis we couldn't get to the hotel until early evening which meant we couldn't fully appreciate the surroundings. We could park fine but would imagine if the hotel was full you may struggle to get a space. Would definitely go back. We got a deal through late rooms but despite it being so nice I wouldn't have paid the full price for the room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We got married in the lake district this November, our hotel was full with our wedding guests so we stayed at the Moss Grove, in the suite downstairs with the hot tub.

The room is beautiful as are the rest of the rooms, there's adequate supplies for drinks and snacks in the room so no need for room service, the hot tub was fantastic which we used at 2am the night of our wedding and loved it, although out in the open it is shelted by a large umberella and easy to use.

The staff are very polite and curteous - we did in fact see the owner the day we were leaving and found her to be very friendly.

Breakfast is serve yourself but we could have stayed two weeks and not been stuck for a different breakfast each morning.

The idea of the hotel is like a retreat to rest and relax and the hotel does this perfectly.

The only down side of the hotel could be the price, we managed to pick up a reasonable deal on the internet but we are aware that it can be very pricey, also the fact that there are no staff later on in the evening, however you are given a key to come and go.
Thank you for helping us to have a wonderful wedding celebration.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaJon09112009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed four nights in the hotel; most things were fine, room, food and all the other facilities the hotel had to offer. The only minus point was that, in my opinion, the duty manager was out of his depth in running a small hotel. The service only reached my required standard when the owner (Sue) arrived for her shifts. Breakfast feast was plentiful, lots of variety; but a very noisy kitchen with the manager banging plates and generally getting in the way ... needed a bit of calmness and good service and at breakfast, this was not on offer. However, a very well appointed hotel; I stayed here the first time in the 1980's and currently it's much improved from 1987 and Grasmere never changes ... superb!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmartinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I was fortunate to have been brought here for the weekend for my birthday.

I cant believe some of the negative reviews some people have posted! What more do people want?

This hotel/B & B is lovely. Its very comfortable, well equipped and our bed was sumptuous. I was unsure about the idea of the breakfast at first but it was actually very nice. The quality was excellent and far exceeded the usual oily (English) slop on most hotel menus.

There is a great restaurant in the village ( the jumble rooms) and the pub opposite does basic home cooked food.

This place isn't perfect. Yes it's a bit hot but you can open the window. Yes the breakfast table is a large communal type table but they do have small ones in the room as well. The parking is a bit tight but it's not the end of the world!

I am looking forward to going back to this hotel and feeling pampered again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

all i can say is wonderful, the two gentleman in charge could not do any more from booking restaurants to local information it was a beautiful room and a lovely break from the norm .
thanks c u soon .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was pure heaven. I made the mistake of reading reviews on this website before going to this hotel - what a mistake - some people are just so hard to please! The rooms were beautiful, the staff were extremely helpful and I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINXFACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $135 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing