We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 3 days holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best 3 days holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were greeted by warm and helpfull staff. The room was a Wow large comfy bed the bathroom was first class with spar bath heated floor an power shower.The breakfast was Mediterranean style and being organic was very heathy the home baked bread and the Cumbrian sausages were good
the hotel is situated in the center of Grasmere juts a stroll to the the shops and cafes.Totaly enjoyable we will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    93
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
21
289
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

A restful and relaxing evening was spent at Moss Grove. Upon arrival I was warmly welcomed and shown to my room where I was met by this huge bed which even myself standing over 6ft tall had to climb into (amazing). I was also lucky enough to have a balcony where I enjoyed a glass of wine looking over the picturesque village. After a great nights sleep, the shower was powerful and although I didn't use the spa bath it was nice to have that option and I am sure I will try it the next time.

Breakfast was a continental style affair with a wide selection of healthy all organic choices, a refreshing change from a full english.

I would totally recommend this hotel, its perfect for couples wanting a romantic time away and great for a relaxing break if you want to explore the great walking and views surrounding the lakes.

Definitely will stay again great boutique hotel

Room Tip: Ask for one with the huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cello1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

we arrived to be greeted by a rather plain dressed male which being a 5 star hotel was quite a let down as first impressions say it all.we were taken to our room which was a very small bedroom with a very low ceiling which my partner hit his head twice.the bathroom was lovely with a spa,its a shame the bedroom wasnt bigger for the price we paid.it was definately not a 5 star.it was all very sparce i know it was organic but there wasnt anyone about to greet us at breakfast you just helped yourself and took your own pots into a very untidy kitchen it looked more like a store room.the breakfast itself was nice but did not like sitting round a settee because other people were sat at a table so you couldnt talk privately. it would have been nice to have had a choice of breakfast in bed too.The decor of the hotel was not impressive and felt more like a travel lodge than a 5 star hotel apart from the bathroom.Was very disappointed by the overall experience and are alot better hotels for the same money,There needs to be more staff we only saw 2 men the entire time we were there it would have been nice to see a female face as the men were not very welcoming and looked like they had just woken up.will not be returning.6 out of ten way way over priced!

Room Tip: drive by the hotel and dont look at the photos ring the hotel and ask for information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

First the good: The room was very well decorated,fitted out,comfortable and clean.But what's the point of paying lots of money if you have to go to bed wearing fleeces etc. The heating goes off in the middle of the night.There is very limited parking.You either end up blocking or being blocked in(very restfull). Breakfast:Whilst the food was excellent you have to share a table just like a youth hostel and carry your tray back to the kitchen.Overall what should have been a brilliant couple of days we got little sleep,and poor service(the place shuts down at 9pm)There are a lot better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peearnoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night
With my boyfriend
When we arrived the electric had gone off
We were advised that it would return
When we got to our room
We were very pleased as lights were on .but what was more impressive was the bed. It was huge and very high from the floor.
The bathroom had under floor heating..large shower and separate bath.
Breakfast there was loads to chose from. Friendly polite staff very welcoming. Can't wait to go again ..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location in the centre of the village,helpfully staff. The room exceeded our expectations being very large and superbly finished, great bathroom with underfloor heating, large shower an jacuzzi bath

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room and negotiate room 10 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Moss Grove Organic, and once again we had a wonderful stay.
One of the things we like best is the delicious buffet breakfast. The 'help yourself breakfast' consists of a lovely variety of 'tapas style' organic dishes, as well as sliced ham, eggs, cheese, yummy Cumberland sausage, and many more things, there really is plenty to choose from !
Each time we've stayed we've had a different room, and they have all been charming with beautifully appointed bathrooms.
The staff are always friendly and helpful, and we can't wait to return again in the summer !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Property: Moss Grove Organic
Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing