We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read the website!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Read the website!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an usual place......but excellent. As the title suggests you must read the website as it may not suit all. For those discerning enough to investigate and say "this is for me" they will be rewarded. Great building, steep stairs, fabulous rooms, lovely carpets, quirky and superb breakfasts (not full English), you need to be independent as no waiter/waitress service, quiet, good sound system for iPod/iPhone, organic everything (the Rioja is ace) and a damn good big bed.
My wife and I loved it and are planning to return soon. If you feel like a break and don't want your ego pumped come here and just chill.

Room Tip: All are good - look at the website and choose a bed that suits your style (see what I mean).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    95
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
21
293
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at about 3/4 places by rote around Ambleside area but this time decided to try somewhere different and we were not disappointed. It's basically a large house in the centre of Grasmere (very close to infamous Gingerbread shop!) with a small number of rooms. Check in time wasn't until 3 pm but there was no problem in leaving the car on the car park and received a friendly welcome and an indication that the room would be ready for 2 pm (which it was ). Room was very clean, large bed and all facilities. Large bathroom with separate shower and a triangular spa bath which we put to good use later. Dinner is not available. We had already booked into the Jungle Room but management would have been happy to recommend. After returning to hotel after dinner we had a peaceful nights sleep. For breakfast you enter into a communal kitchen and help yourself. It's styled a Mediterranean breakfast but there were also little Cumberland sausage bites which were delicious. It isn't the traditional Lakeland breakfast but as we weren't hiking this time it wasn't a problem. You can eat in a communal lounge or take the food back to your room and have breakfast in bed. We would visit again and probably our only criticisms are that there were no white gowns or spa products to use in the bath. Other than that a very relaxing stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

February 2011

The stay at this hotel was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The management accommodated our every need.

Very welcoming and private place to stay. A beautiful room, cozy and perfect for a winter get away.

The bathroom was of the best standard not only very clean but modern too.

From the furnishings to the water supply, heating and food, all things organic fill this lovely space. Sustainability is king at the Moss Grove. I was very impressed!

The location is perfect for exploring the local area.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel and if I were to stay here again the only thing I would change is to try the suite!

Many thanks to them and I hope to be back when I am next in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLouise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent just one night here in April 2013. Not really a hotel, more a wonderful B&B with bells and whistles, in the heart of Grasmere, near the gingerbread shop, story teller's corner and the churchyard where Wordsworth is buried.
The aim of the establishment is to be wholly organic, with an emphasis on being eco friendly as well.
The breakfasts are prepared in the kitchen, then in the morning one wanders in and serves oneself, from a pretty traditional but locally sourced full English to the most delicious organic porridge. Also, a good range of teas, coffees and herbal drinks. Breakfast can then be eaten in a lovely large room, either at a family sized table or at small cosy tables for 2 or so....or taken into bedroom.
These are just wonderful - beds made from reclaimed timber, bathrooms to die for and lovely wallpapers throughout.
Not really a hotel in that evening meals are not supplied but there are numerous good eating places in Grasmere.
staff very welcoming, professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 4 is large, with balcony overlooking road. Huge bed!! Room 11 has bathroom to die for, not muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saddleworth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Moss Grove has used organic materials in construction and bedding etc, but even if you don't care about that, it's a lovely place to stay. Staff are friendly, and accommodating, rooms are really spacious and comfortable. We have had rooms with a balcony, which is great in the better weather. There is a Bose system for music, DVD;s to borrow if you have to stay in, but also a comfortable lounge where you can relax, read, or order a bottle of wine. Breakfast is a feast - not a traditional full English, although there are sausages and eggs, but fruit, croissants, great bread, and a great variety of bruschetta type squares with tomatoes, olives and all manner of toppings. The car park is cosy, but has parking for every room, and being in the centre of Ambleside, is well placed for walks, shops, pubs, and Dove Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucysaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here in July and had a wonderful night, wished we had booked for two as would have been good to relax and enjoy the laid back breakfast and take our time.
Bedroom was lovely, we had a balcony and it was peacefully perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful night and 2 days in Grasmere. We were given a warm welcome on our early arrival on Friday and although we knew our room would not be ready until 3 were told that we could leave our car on the car park whilst we went for a lovely walk around Rydal. On our return we were shown to room 5 which was spectacular with an enormous wooden bed which was so high I needed to take a run at it, fantastic. The room also had a lovely balcony overlooking Grasmere,everything was perfect and spotlessly clean. We were at a wedding in the evening so did not sample any restaurants for an evening meal but the jumble rooms were recommended by other guests. The help yourself breakfast in the morning was deliciously unusual but a refreshing break from the usual full English with homemade bread, freshly baked croissants, muesli, local ham, eggs, organic sausages and a selection of homemade pastry delicacies it was home from home luxury. We had a wonderful snowy walk up Easdale Tarn and again were allowed to leave our car on the car park as long as we moved it by 2pm in time for the next guests. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at a wonderful hotel and will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewshamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Property: Moss Grove Organic
Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing