We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for peace”
Review of Moss Grove Organic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Grove Organic
Ranked #6 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here in July and had a wonderful night, wished we had booked for two as would have been good to relax and enjoy the laid back breakfast and take our time.
Bedroom was lovely, we had a balcony and it was peacefully perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 404 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful night and 2 days in Grasmere. We were given a warm welcome on our early arrival on Friday and although we knew our room would not be ready until 3 were told that we could leave our car on the car park whilst we went for a lovely walk around Rydal. On our return we were shown to room 5 which was spectacular with an enormous wooden bed which was so high I needed to take a run at it, fantastic. The room also had a lovely balcony overlooking Grasmere,everything was perfect and spotlessly clean. We were at a wedding in the evening so did not sample any restaurants for an evening meal but the jumble rooms were recommended by other guests. The help yourself breakfast in the morning was deliciously unusual but a refreshing break from the usual full English with homemade bread, freshly baked croissants, muesli, local ham, eggs, organic sausages and a selection of homemade pastry delicacies it was home from home luxury. We had a wonderful snowy walk up Easdale Tarn and again were allowed to leave our car on the car park as long as we moved it by 2pm in time for the next guests. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at a wonderful hotel and will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NewshamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Moss Grove is a favourite of mine.
I have been going there on and off for 6 years.
I have stayed in 3 of their rooms. My favourite is the Executive Suite with the Hot Tub.
The rooms are large,Decorated tastefully, airy, the bed huge and very comfy.The Executive Suite has a private sitting room and the small garden with Hot Tub leads off from this, this is a wonderful treat especially after a long walk.
The hotel has a small number of rooms and is very quiet and peaceful, especially at night.
The Jumble rooms amongst other eateries, is just around the corner, everything in walking distance.I feel very spoilt when i stay at The Moss Grove.
The breakfast which is a help yourself affair in the kitchen is that fit for a King (Queen in my case)
The staff always helpful and courteous and accomodating to your needs.

Room Tip: Executive Room with Hot Tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a weekend at this special place in February 2013, and we had an excellent stay. Very friendly and welcoming staff, great unusual breakfast and very impressed with the organic and environmental rooms. This was the dog's first holiday and he was also made very welcome; make sure you contact the staff before your arrival explaining that they have an extra four legged guest as ground floor rooms are better for them. Very relaxing and Grasmere is very conveniently located. We will certainly be back, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Really really love the location, atmosphere & size of the rooms. We stayed in room 5 - excellent views from the balcony - g8 jacuzzi in the bathroom (lovely after long walks). We really enjoyed breakfast because we are not fans of a traditional cooked breakfast but I could see if that's part of what you are looking for this is not going to work for u. The bed in room 5 is huge (by huge I mean very high off the ground - I am 5' tall - had to take a run & leap at it to get on it - wont work for u if u are older & less mobile.) don't know why they don't cut the legs down by 12"

It's above 5* if u judge as a guest house but below 5* if u judge as a hotel which is how it is described.

Very helpful staff, parking was good, would be good to hv a vending machine with water etc for requirements after 9pm. Or a fridge in the room.

Would I stay again? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay here with my dog. Stayed in the suite. Whilst the room initially seemed pricey, you're in the centre of Grasmere and the best part was the private hot tub... There were no restrictions on this so we could make use of this any time we wanted. The dog got muddy from walking but we felt as though this was no issue. The owner booked us in to a restaurant the second night and was rang round to see where would accept dogs. Staff were very helpful (providing walking suggestions). Loved the organic quirky buffet breakfast, full English can get samey so we were loving the alternative style of this one. I read others did not like the B&B approach compared to hotels but we liked being left to our own devices. Will return :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brottonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a few days here in September 2012, after I had heard I was ill and would need an op, wasn't sure about going away, but so glad we did. Very friendly and welcoming staff, great breakfast and very impressed with the whole organic and environmental things they had done. Very relaxing and Grassmere is quite lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RABBITO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,573 reviews
0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Grove Organic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Grove Organic

Address: 591 Off a, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $129 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Grove Organic 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Good 39 guest reviews "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R "Very good. We booked room 2. Jacuzzi was nice but there were strawberry tops on floor outside and marks in bath...." M Salt "A lovely clean modern hotel. Lovely room but didn't enjoy the buffet style breakfast. I would have rather had a full English...." Graeme P "Beautifully presented, well looked after, delicious breakfast. 5*..." kally a "Great hotel. Stayed in number 7 which had a super King bed and Jacuzzi bath. Couldn't fault it! One of the best hotels I've stayed in! Organ..." A Reid "Could be signposted or have better website directions as missed it first time but great place to stay- room excellent , owner lovely, would..." David R Previous Next About the property The Moss Grove Organic offers 5-star guest accommodation. Each of the individually designed bedrooms are unique in character, shape, design and ambience. All sharing a relaxed and totally natural style with a range of sustainable features. Each bedroom has a flat-screen TV and Bose Entertainment system with a DVD library available and free WI-FI throughout the property. The modern and sleek bathrooms have a Jacuzzi spa bath, under floor heating and organic toiletries. The Award winning Mediterranean style buffet breakfast is served in the country kitchen including an extensive selection of organic, local and fair-trade produce. With a range of cereals, local Cumberland sausage, home made breads, cheeses, crostinis, ham and tapas dishes so you can be sure of a most delicious and nutritious start to your day. Ideally situated in the heart of the Lake District in Grasmere village centre. Just over 500 metres from Grasmere Lake. The popular Lake District town Ambleside is just 4 miles to the South and 12 miles to the North is Keswick. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moss Grove Organic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing