We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Travellers Rest Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We only came here to eat, so I can't review the rooms.

However the Meal we had was good.

The food was tasty. Pretty much what I'd expect from a pub.
The service was friendly and
efficient.

Could have been a little cheaper £41 for two isn't too bad.

All in all I'd recommend this pub.
Oh! and the beers not too bad either!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank celmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    158
    63
    32
    30
See reviews for
73
248
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Booked last minute for £70 (couple), good value overall. Room was a little dated, but very clean. Had a roadside room, which did have some noise throughout the night. Staff very helpful overall and food in the restaurant was to a good standard. Is a good location for exploring the surrounding village and lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbieblakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Arrived without a reservation, but could see from "Late Rooms" web site had a double B & B for £60.00. Was told price was £70.00 but they matched the £60.00.

Nice bedroom with good view.

Also, good selection of local real ales.

Eat in the dinning room, food very good

Room Tip: We had Room 7 and the back of the inn, with a nice view. However, matress very poor and could feel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Selected from AA pub guide for its beer , a good range of ales my husband tells me - very pleased with choice of snecklifter. A good choice of food for all tastes but we chose relatively lite bites with a jacket potato and a panini and both were fine but not amazing - I suppose just what one would expect when making these choices - it hit the spot at the time. Staff were friendly and welcoming & service attentive.
It's found on the main road heading to Keswick from Ambleside. It has a choice of seating areas and included old rustic furniture, we very much liked the background music and found the late lunch a relaxing and pleasant experience. A drink each and a 'main' totalled £19! A bargain. With open countryside views its not a bad choice for lunch away from the throngs of a busy Ambleside. Worth a visit for sure.

Room Tip: Didn't stay just had ate Lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remotelyworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my girlfriends birthday. We love the lakes an have both been coming since we were kids. Chose the travellers rest for its great location and was not disappointed. Walks and towns all easily accessible. The staff were fantastic, really warm and friendly. The room was unexpectedly nice. We were expecting simple style as you would from a 16/17th century coaching house but we were met with Louis XlV grandure all be it 3/4 sized and squeezed into the old building's frame. It was lovely. The bed was comfy and the shower was good. There were a few bulbs out and housekeeping could used a bit of attention to detail. Dont forget blinds, shades and edges. Breakfast was excellent and really set us up for the day. All in all we had a great stay and will go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Can we just say how much we really enjoyed our two day break last week in this welcoming Inn. The staff as usual were delightful, helpful and very friendly and the accommodation was fantastic value for money as was the food. The food was first class as usual and we will be returning again in a couple of weeks time. We will be enjoying the delights of the travellers rest which is by far our favourite eating place in Grasmere. Look forward to visiting there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What an excellent place to stay if you are looking for the typical oldy worldy Inn. Central to the lakes it offers a great choice. Ensuite rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a great choice on the menu for all meals. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Would definetly go back again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanieRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travellers Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest Inn

Property: The Travellers Rest Inn
Address: Dunmail Raise, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Travellers Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot fo Helvellyn on the outskirts of the picturesque village fo Grasmere, The 16th century Travellers Rest Inn enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of the Lake District National Park. The Travellers Rest offers an award winning restaurant with an extensive range of dished created from the finest local produce, a traditional bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Travellers Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Hotel Grasmere
Travellers Rest Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing