We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Travellers Rest Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
192
167
70
32
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
167
70
32
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak menuroad noisecoal firelake districtmain roadtwo coursesreal aleate hereweekend staycumberland sausagepiping hotpuddingan evening mealroom was clean and comfortablecouple of nightslovely mealtwin room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 495 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Myself, my labrador and my family stayed for three nights over Christmas and I must say we couldn't fault it!
Firstly the location is superb. A warm welcome when you come through the door - stone floors, roaring fire and complementary glass of mulled wine. Our host Eleanor was wonderful and really catered for our every whim. The rooms are superb, clean and tidy with beautiful views. Loved my room, number 9, double aspect and newly fitted bathroom (superb shower!)
Even better was the food. A very good menu, all freshly cooked, large portions and tasted fabulous. Very impressive, we couldn't finish most of our meals.
The staff were very approachable and helpful. It was also great to stay somewhere that welcomed the dog - she even had a plate of ham treat for Christmas!
Also we thought it was very good value, especially over Christmas.
All in all, we would highly recommend it and will definitely not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: corner Room 9 has double aspect overlooking hills and lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WallaceLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like you had a brilliant Christmas! Make sure to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Travellers Rest and its sister Inn, The Kings Head at Thirlspot on very many occasions during the last ten years and returned to both of theme several times during 2012. The rooms are good and comfortable, and I have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The beer is excellent and the situation of both Inns is ideal for walking. Several rooms have been modernised at the Travellers Rest during the last year and there is work planned for the Kings Head which will enhance the 'rest areas'. Thanks to Lana, Derek and the team - best wishes for 2013, see you soon!

Room Tip: Back Rooms at Traveller's Rest have been modernised.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank welshhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Travellers Rest during 2012 and yet again it was a great stay and great value for money. Our dog (a working Cocker Spaniel)) was made very welcome. There is nothing like a day's walking and then to come back to a roaring fire and a well stocked bar with friendly staff. The dog dried off by the fire whilst we enjoyed a tipple. The pub serves Jennings Beer and the 'Sneck Lifter' is a brew I would recommend if you like dark stouts. The food is excellent value for money with large portions. You can enjoy a three course meal for £20 or under. The rooms although quite compact in size and therefore somewhat limited to storage are perfectly adequate for a short break. With a laminate floor they are serviceable for people with dogs and the en- suite is equipped to a good standard with heated towel rail. We occupied room 8. Grasmere is a perfect location for exploring the Lakes with its central position and located on the A591 you are only 20 minutes away from either Keswick or Windermere. Located just outside the main village walking in takes about 20 mins direct or 45 if you want a longer quieter walk in with the dog.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keentraveller088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to hear that all aspects of The Traveller's Rest are being enjoyed by guests. Great to hear that we're doing a good job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stopped off for lunch, first impressions were not good, bar maid who also took food orders aloof and unwelcoming. Dining room and bar empty, so barmaid stood at kitchen door talking to staff in there, laughing and chatting in her language. To be honest her behaviour made us feel downright uncomfortable, given she kept glancing over. Food nothing special, very average pub food in my thoughts, We just ate our main course and left. Though on busy main road, the views are lovely from front windows, but not so wonderful as to persuade us to return. Not a pleasant experience in fact a very uncomfortable one ... felt we were more of a nuisance than anything else for stopping by. Shame as this pub has so much potential. Hope things pick up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank MissHoney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location.
If you are interested in walking the Central and Eastern Fells this spot is an ideal location to stay at. Situated at the foot of Tongue Ghyll, (see Helvellyn 17 book 1) you are right at the bottom of a walk up to Grisedale Tarn. Take your pick then either Fairfield, returning via Great Rigg, Heron Pike and Alcock Tarn, (4 hours), Seat Sandal, or venture further afield up Dollywaggon, Nethermost Pike and Helvellyn. The less adventurous could just walk up to the Tarn and back by Little Tongue. Across the road is an easy walk up to Helm Crag, I prefer to take the route up the Greenburn Valley, and onto Calf Crag, (see Calf Crag 4 book 3) then descend onto Gibson Knot then Helm Crag. Should take you 2 hours. More adventurous can do Raise, Sergeant Man and beyond.
The village is just a walk away s you do not need to use your car. Some take the bus to Wythburn then walk back over Helvellyn, this is to be recommended, just check the forecast before you go.
Food.
I have eaten at this Inn more than 6 times now, always had the steak and never been disappointed.It is not expensive. Others I have taken have had different menus and have been happy with their choice. The new menu should be up and running by 24th November 2012. The fish pie will be a special which always get good reviews.
Reception.
I have always found the staff to be very helpful, polite, hard working and smartly turned out. I would strongly disagree with some reviews posted here.I have not stayed at the Inn so cannot comment on the rooms. Many people doing the Coast to Coast stop here.
Dogs.
Dogs are made welcome and enjoy sitting by the coal fire, floors are slate and wood.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that on numerous visits to The Traveller's Rest Inn, you have enjoyed the atmosphere and you were made to feel welcome by the staff. The new winter menu is now available including Traditional Lancashire Hot Pot and Locally Sourced Game, amongst others. Great for these cold winters days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews