We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Travellers Rest Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed here on a recommendation from a work colleague. Bed and breakfast was £100 for the smallest room we have ever stayed in. Apart from the size of the room there was mould on the walls in the bedroom and bathroom. The bed had a very soft mattress.
You are requested to stay in your room between 11.00pm and 8.00 am as they set the upstairs alarm system, I'm not sure what staff if any are around after that as the place seems to be run by very young people of various nationalities, all very friendly.
Food in the evening was fine, breakfast was much more hit and miss, the ingredients varied each day from bland to sodium bomb salty so I doubt they use regular suppliers and also doubt whether the same chefs cook breakfast..
One fellow guest was shocked on checking out, she thought she was paying £50 per room, not £50 per person.
Shop around, there is much better value than this in the Lake District.
I won't follow this person's recommendation again!

  • Liked — Beer
  • Disliked — Pokey room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredandEmotionalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    159
    63
    32
    30
See reviews for
73
252
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
gibraltar
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Firstlt, may we point out we were slightly apprehensive going to thisestablishment as we had read the previous review, but what a corker of a place to find. Firstly the meals were absolutely fantastic, and not a sight of the gravy granules the previous comment had wrote about, the service was excellent and the whole weekend wasone of the best we have ever had in the lake district. a big thank you to all the staff for our lovely weekend. and may i say before you read other so called comments about this establishment, just visit your self and make your own mind up.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank manymalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

This is a lovely pub for a drink as we discovered after an afternoon walk. Encouraged by the warm fire and cosy atmosphere, we returned that evening for dinner. This was a huge mistake.We waited an hour for our main courses. We had to send back our dirty cutlery and the food was disgusting. We had a cheap margarine flavoured hollandaise sauce on the chicken and a flat puff pastry over microwaved steak and mushroom pie which was satuarated in cheap gravy granule gravy. Waterry mashed potato completed this atrocious food.No offer of tea or coffee or dessert, which was probably a blessing. The sad thing is that the meats and fresh ingredients, had they been cooked properly were probably of a high standard before the chef( and i use that term loosely) had ruined them. Two of our party of four had upset stomachs within 2 hours of eating.Overpriced low standard pub grub.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sio1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2007

stayed during half term found it to be of good value, good food, the only problem i found that it was very busy. and couldnt find a quiet corner to have a chat . otherwise a pleasurable experience.
and will definitely be back again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — how busy it was!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebeneezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Booked in for walking weekend with six girlfriends. Read reviews on trip advisor and was a little apprehensive.

However, arrived on friday evening to warm friendly greeting. shown to room 7 - twin room - very clean and tastefully furnished. Ate in restaurant that evening - standard pub menu but good quality food at reasonable prices (£9.95 for two course meal off the steak menu). Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Location was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definatley go back.

Minor niggle: - the bedroom was uncomfortably hot inspite of the radiators being off and the window left open.- otherwise can't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sindybates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travellers Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest Inn

Property: The Travellers Rest Inn
Address: Dunmail Raise, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Travellers Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot fo Helvellyn on the outskirts of the picturesque village fo Grasmere, The 16th century Travellers Rest Inn enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of the Lake District National Park. The Travellers Rest offers an award winning restaurant with an extensive range of dished created from the finest local produce, a traditional bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Travellers Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Hotel Grasmere
Travellers Rest Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing