We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Travellers Rest Inn
Nearby Hotels
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$145
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
195
167
70
32
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
167
70
32
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak menuroad noisecoal firelake districtmain roadtwo coursesreal aleate hereweekend staycumberland sausagepiping hotpuddingan evening mealroom was clean and comfortablecouple of nightslovely mealtwin room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 498 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the 2nd time we had stayed at The Travellers Rest, indeed the 1st time was a year ago next week. Our 1st visit was mixed, with some positives - and some negatives, as you would expect from a 1st visit, but we did say that we would come again.
This was a 3 night stay this time, and albeit a late booking we thought from the 1st time round it was well worthy of a second visit - and a better appraisal.
So here it is:-
The pub/hotel: Quintessentially Lakeland style on the fringes of beautiful Grasmere. Not central to the village, but a short hop and skip down the road - reflective in the lower price compared to some "central" hotels - and not a problem at all - unless you have no legs.
The interior is lovely - Typical old world coaching house that exudes ambiance and character. Jennings ales on tap - personally I love Jennings ales with a great pint of Cocker Hoop - so top marks!
Accommodation: Our room, just so happened to be the same room we had this time last year (Rm7) - so were pleasantly surprised to find the bathroom had had a complete revamp/renewal - and what a difference ! Miles better - was a bit 'jaded' last year and has now moved with the times. Well done.
The room is still the same size - no surprise there, and despite some previous slightly negative comments from other people, we find it more cosy than small - expectant of a coaching house from days of old where rooms were small and fit-for-purpose.
It was still hot - I have since seen negative comments on trip advisor about the temperature, and it was an issue 1st time round, but a quick word with Julian (the bar/hotel manager?) and after a long days' walk we came back to find a spanking new fan in the room to provide a lovely cool breeze - just right to temper the "blistering heat" of the "Great British Summer" ! (Absolute top marks to Julian here for going the extra mile to ensure we, as guests, were happy)
Food: Can only comment on the breakfasts here as our plans didn't have us eat in the hotel in the evening, but the food was faultless, and served in an instant.
Service: Lovely manners, with a smile, no complaints.
All in all this has been an lovely weekend, there have been some good improvements since last year. If you have any complaints - raise them at the time, and they will respond. Say nothing until you're back home - then forget it, you have no-one to blame but yourself! I said on last review we would be back - we did. I'll say on this review that we will be back - and we will. Well done Travellers, keep up the good work ! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scelmato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Traveller's Rest Inn even more than the first time and look forward to your third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We decided to stay at the travellers rest again as a family, and we were not disappointed,the warm welcome ,was as we remembered from our last vist ,iulian the manager is very polite,as is all the staff there,again nothing was a trouble to them,two of our family asked if they could change their room,no fuss was made it was done.Excellent breakfast,evening menu was a credit to the chefs,our room had beautiful views,and was clean and comfortable,attention to detail was lovely many thanks to everyone see you all again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here as a stop gap whilst visiting the lakes.
Staff were friendly, and food was lovely. Breakfast had varied choice. Cumbrian breakfast was lovely.
Typical old country pub accommodation.
Would recommend. Beautiful scenic views from our bedroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your visit. We hope you decide to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here twice as we love the location and the breakfasts are superb. Fresh local produce, a wide choice from the cold buffet and a good breakfast menu for cooked breakfasts.

Bed was comfy, but the room was small and we are used to a superking bed, so squeezing into a double (especially me being 6 months pregnant the last time we visited) wasn't ideal. We'd try for a twin next time.

But we love it here, as we enjoy staying somewhere that you dont have to venture out of in the evening. With a lovely homely pub that does excellent (if a little pricey) food, there is no need to.

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiraBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, Owner at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

About 10 mins walk from the village centre, front rooms face busy road (but nice fell view), back rooms reasonably quiet. Staff very good, breakfasts good (but serving time quite restricted) Didnt try eating-in at night - went down to the village where there is plenty to choose from. Room servicing average, room (and bathroom) quite small, but ok for a short break. Also very hot due to proximity of hot water tank - needed the window open all night. Decor a bit run-down.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidcupWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews